MLA Handbook by Author Lastname, Author Firstname. Title of Source (Book). Name of Publisher, Publication Date.
One-author - in-text citation
Use a variety of styles when introducing information from sources for in-text citations, such as:
In-text Citation Example - paraphrase
Purtilio studied patient care service levels identifying primary care as an area requiring rigorous assessment (111).
Works Cited Example
Cochrane, Allan. Understanding Urban Policy: A Critical Approach. Blackwell, 2007.
Follow the following format guidelines:
In-text Citation Example
Providing equitable heath care services within a single medical environment is challenging yet achievable when assessed within a rigorous rubric; however, attempts to provide equitable service across multiple medical environments distributed across several provinces is problematic and varies widely (Palmer and Short 45).
Works Cited Example
Palmer, George and Stephanie Short. Health Care and Public Policy: An Australian Analysis. 4th ed., Palgrave Macmillan, 2010.
Author Items considered under this citation guideline may include an essay in an edited collection or anthology, or a chapter of a book. In-text citation uses only name of author(s) of the anthology chapter, essay, or section not the anthology editor(s) name.
In-text Citation Example
The law debated in the House of Assembly states specifics regarding buffer zones around protest sites (Blumber 55).
Works Cited Basic Format
Author Lastname, Author Firstname. "Title of Chapter/Essay/Story." Title of Container (Book Collection or Anthology), edited by Firstname Lastname, Name of Publisher, Publication Date, pp. #-##.
Works Cited Example
Blumber, Robyn. "The Free Speech Rights of Abortion Protesters Should Not Be Restricted." Censorship: Opposing Viewpoints, edited by Tamara L. Roleff, Greenhaven, 2012, pp. 54-58.
In-text Example
The recruitment of children for the Nazi Party began in 1933 bringing all children between the ages of 10 and 18 into the Hitler Youth program (Kater 45).
Works Cited Basic Format
Author Lastname, Author Firstname. Title of Source (eBook). Name of Publisher, Publication Date, Title of Container (e-Book Collection Name), URL.
Works Cited Example
Kater, Michael H. Hitler Youth. Harvard University Press, 2004, EBSCOhost, login.ezproxy.nscc.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=282437&site=ehost-live.
A DOI is a unique, permanent identifier assigned to articles in many databases. Always include the DOI if one is provided (usually in the article’s full-text, abstract or database record). If there is a DOI, no other retrieval information is necessary.
In-text Citation Example
The author refers to the evolution of speech, specifically of Martin Luther King: “Gradually his language began to grow more visionary” (Alessandra 68).
Works Cited Basic Format
Author Lastname, Author Firstname. Title of Source (eBook). Name of Publisher, Publication Date, Title of Container (e-Book Collection Name), DOI.
Works Cited Example
Alessandra, Anthony J. Genius of Mind, Body & Spirit Ebook. Electronic & Database Publishing, Inc, 2000, EBSCOhost E-book, doi:heb.007588.0001.001.
In-text Citation Example
Lander provides a contemporary first-world socio-cultural optic on the relevance of Shakespeare’s work in the context of gender and transgender themes (589).
Works Cited Basic Format
Author Lastname, Author Firstname. "Title of Entry." Title of Container (Encyclopedia or Dictionary), edited by Editor's Firstname Lastname, Edition if given and not first edition, vol. #, Name of Publisher, Publication Date.
Works Cited Example
Lander, Jesse M. "Shakespeare, William." World Book Student, edited by Martin Jones, vol. 4, 2016. .
In-text Citation Example
The self-applied term used by individuals who identify with a gender differing from their biological sex at birth (“Gender Identity Disorder” 674).
Works Cited Basic Format
"Title of Entry." Title of Container (Encyclopedia or Dictionary), edited by Editor's Firstname Lastname, Edition if given and not first edition, vol. #, Name of Publisher, Publication Date, pp. #-##. Name of Database, URL.
Works Cited Example
"Gender Identity Disorder." The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health, edited by Kristin Key, 3rd ed., vol. 1, Gale, 2012, pp. 670-76. Gale Virtual Reference Library, go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=nsprovl_nscc&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CCX4013200205&asid=8c0deae558b843da8ef44957cb7138c8.
Author Lastname, Author Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Container (Journal), vol. #, issue. #, Publication Date written as Month/Season Year, pp. #-##.
Author Lastname, Author Firstname. “Title of Article.” Title of Container (Journal), vol. #, issue. #, Publication Date written as Month/Season Year, pp. #-##. Title of Container (Database), DOI.
In-text Citation Example
Sasani and Arjmandi posit that Atwoods' writing resists societal normalizing identification instead of integrating and celebrating women's disenfranchised voices (1524).
Works Cited Example
Sasani, Samira, and Diba Arjmandi. "The 'I' Against an 'Other'": Gender Trouble in the Edible Woman." Theory and Practice in Language Studies, vol. 5, no. 7, February 2015, pp. 1520-24. ProQuest Central, doi:10.17507/tpls.0507.28.
Author Lastname, Author Firstname. “Title of Article.” Title of Container (Journal), vol. #, issue. #, Publication Date written as Month/Season Year, pp. #-##. Title of Container (Database), URL.
In-text Citation Example
Pollin, Burton R. "Edgar Allan Poe as a Major Influence upon Allen Ginsberg." The Mississippi Quarterly, vol. 52, no. 4, Fall 1999, pp. 535-58. ProQuest Central, login.ezproxy.nscc.ca/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/213521494?accountid=400
Works Cited Example
Sasani, Samira, and Diba Arjmandi. "The 'I' Against an 'Other'": Gender Trouble in the Edible Woman." Theory and Practice in Language Studies, vol. 5, no. 7, February 2015, pp. 1520-24. ProQuest Central, doi:10.17507/tpls.0507.28.
In-text Citation Example
Jackson proposed high-tech virtual reality exposure as an alternative to drug therapy (47).
Works Cited Example
Jackson, Arthur. "New Approaches to Drug Therapy." Psychology Today and Tomorrow, vol. 2, no. 1, August 2007, pp. 46-48, www.psychologytoday.com/.
In-text Citation Example
Sasani and Arjmandi posit that Atwood's writing resists societal normalizing identification instead of integrating and celebrating women's disenfranchised voices (1524).
Works Cited Example
Sasani, Samira, and Diba Arjmandi. "The 'I' Against an 'Other'": Gender Trouble in the Edible Woman." Theory and Practice in Language Studies, vol. 5, no. 7, February 2015, pp. 1520-24. ProQuest Central, doi:10.17507/tpls.0507.28.
In-text Citation Example
Researchers find Poe's work "unconventional, vividly uninhibited poems about social, political, and sexual conduct and action" (Pollin 541).
Works Cited Example
Pollin, Burton R. "Edgar Allan Poe as a Major Influence upon Allen Ginsberg." The Mississippi Quarterly, vol. 52, no. 4, Fall 1999, pp. 535-58. ProQuest Central, login.ezproxy.nscc.ca/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/213521494?accountid=400.
Author Lastname, Author Firstname. “Title of Article.” Title of Container (Webpage), Publication Date, URL. Accessed Date written as Day Month Year.
MLA guidelines now omit the http:// part of the URL of items located on the Internet.
In-text Citation Example
Schuchard reviews Paul Peucker's most recent book stating that it is a "painstaking and thorough examination" of archival sources.
Works Cited Example
Schuchard, Marsha Keith. "Book review: Paul Peucker, A Time Shifting: Mystical Marriage of the Crisis of Moravian Piety in the Eighteenth Century." Hell's Printing Press: The Official Blog of the William Black Archive and Black/An Illustrated Quarterly. 2017, blog.blakearchive.org/. Accessed 12 March 2017.
Basic Format
Author Lastname, Firstname. "Web Page Title." Web Site Title, Date of Publication, URL.
In-text Citation Example
Friendman's piece states underlying tensions borne by long standing dysfunction in the U.S.-Russia relationship.
Works Cited Example
Friedman, Uri. "Russia and America Are Once Again at Odds." The Atlantic, April 9, 2017, www.theatlantic.com/international/archive/2017/04/russia-america-syria-trump/522435/. Accessed 20 April 2017.
In-text Citation Example
In British Columbia 13% of the population or over 550,000 cases of foodborne illnesses are reported ("Food Safety").
Works Cited Example
"Food Safety". BC Centre for Disease Control. 2017, www.bccdc.ca/health-info/food-your-health/food-safety. Accessed 10 February 2017.
Basic Format
Username. "Text of the Tweet." Twitter, Date, Time, URL.
In-text Citation Example
Self-proported futurist and tech pioneer, Leesa Renee Hall uses her Twitter feed to share shore videos on a variety of topics including innovation.
Works Cited Example
@leesareneehall.#GenX: We’ve Been Ignored, But No One Can Ignore Our #Innovation in #Tech dlvr.it/Nm1yPh. Twitter, March 30, 2017, twitter.com/leesareneehall
Audiovisual includes motion pictures, audio and television broadcasts, maps, artwork, photography.
There is no single basic format for media citations when creating a Works Cited list. Please refer to the MLA Handbook 8th ed. pages 24, 28, 30, 33. Consult the MLA Handbook index for film, television, and video.
Basic Format
“Source.” “Episode Title.” Title of Container (Series), Contributors (Creator, Director), season #, episode #, Network, Broadcast Date.
In-text Citation Example
The final scene where Jax opens his arms meeting death is reminiscent of a Christ image and foretold earlier in the episode as he speaks with the homeless man on the court steps (Papa's Goods).
Works Cited Example
"Papa's Goods". Sons of Anarchy, directed by Kurt Sitter, season 7, episode 13, FX, 9 December, 2014.
Basic Format
Author name or Username. "Title of Video." Website Title, Date, URL.
In-text Citation Example
Brilliant time-lapse images support theories of climate change and consequences of receding ice (National Geographic). National Geographic.
Works Cited Example
"Chasing Antarctic Ice National Geographic." Youtube, 24 March 2014, youtu.be/-2eKzOYcDWc.
Basic Format
When citing a specific episode, follow this format: "Title." Series title, season #, episode 3, Network, Date. Name of digital streaming media service, URL.
In-text Citation Example
This adaptation of Jay Asher's book is a passive-aggressive, jumbled, and thinly written delivering no insights into teenage depression, bullying, and suicide stemming from the first reasons she lists - a rumor started by the first boy she kisses (Tape 1, Side 1).
Works Cited Example
"Tape 1, Side A." 13 Reasons Why, season 1, episode 13, Netflix Original, 31 March 2017. Netflix, www.netflix.com/browse?jbv=80107549&jbp=2&jbr=1.