Skip to main content

eBooks: Accessing eBooks

Tips and tricks for searching and reading eBooks at NSCC

Want to read on an eReader?

Want to read an NSCC eBook on a device? No problem. Titles can be downloaded or transferred to any device that supports Adobe Digital Editions or the free Bluefire Reader app. This includes the iPhone, iPad, Kindle Fire, Android devices and most ebook readers.

See the Other Devices Page of this guide for details.

Accessing eBooks

Ebook Central eBooks will have a Find Online tab beneath the title. Clicking on this will take you to the Ebook Central login screen (see below) unless the title is available through another Library's eBook collection. If this is the case, a window with the Access options will open and you will need to select Check for Full Text Access available to Novanet members (Nova Scotia Universities and NSCC). This will take you to the Ebook Central Login screen.  


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From the Ebook Central Login screen, begin typing "nova scotia community college" and select it from the list and click Continue.

 

 

 

 

 

 

You will then enter your W number and password. In order to access eBooks, you are required to enter this information either on or off campus.

 

 

You'll be brought to the book! From here you can choose to access the eBook in a variety of ways:

  • Read Online - Read the eBook, view the Table of Contents, use the Search Within feature, Download page range* etc.
  • Full Download - To download the entire book, you'll need Adobe Digital Editions on laptop/desktop, or Bluefire Reader on tablets and phones.
  • Chapter Download - Download a PDF of a chapter*.

*When you download pages or chapters, you get a PDF file that doesn't expire. The number of pages you can download shares the same allowance as what you can print to PDF.

**Information about how many pages of the book you can copy (copy & paste) or print is listed here under Available for Online Reading.

Downloading

To download a chapter of an Ebook Central eBook

  1. Select Chapter Download.
  2. Check out Ebook (loan period is 7 days).
  3. Select the Citation Style and Chapter. Click Continue.
  4. Open PDF and save it to your computer or flash drive.

To download a page range (not an entire chapter)

  1. Click on Read Online.
  2. Select the Chapter Download Tool from the top of the page.
  3. Indicate the page range and Citation Style.
  4. Click Continue.
  5. Open PDF and save it to your computer or flash drive.

To download the full book, select Full Download and follow the steps:

  1. What device are you using? Choose "I'm using my own computer". Continue.
  2. Install - if you already have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your computer, click Done with this step.
  3. Download - click Download Your Book. The book will download and open in Adobe Digital Editions.

EBSCO Academic eBooks will have a Find Online tab beneath the title. Clicking the Check for Full Text Access restricted: NSCC users only link will take you to a login screen to verify you belong to NSCC.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Off-Campus only: you will be prompted to enter your W number and password.

 

 

You'll be brought to the book! From here you can choose to access the eBook in a variety of ways:

PDF Full Text - read the eBook online in PDF format.

EPUB Full Text - read the eBook online in EPUB format.

  • Both these formats allow you to Browse the contents, Search, Save up to 100 pages, Email a link, etc.

Download This eBook - Read Offline on your computer or with an hand held device.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can borrow the book to read offline for up to 14 days. To do this you will need your own free My EBSCOhost account.

A My EBSCOhost account is a free account that you create in any EBSCOhost database.

This account allows you to:

  • Download an eBook.
  • Make and save notes in an eBook.
  • Place a hold on an eBook.

Please note: This is a special EBSCO account and does not use the same username and password as your NSCC email or MyNSCC account.

Read On Your Computer or eReader

  • Download an eBook to your personal computer.
  • You can read the book on your computer using Adobe Digital Editions* or transfer the eBook to a reading device.
    • Adobe Digital Editions software (free) installed on your computer.
    • An Adobe ID.
    • A handheld device for reading eBooks.
  • *Adobe Digital Editions is not designed for school computers. Students will need to install it on their own personal computers or laptops.
  • Need help downloading? Watch this video tutorial on downloading eBooks.

Read On Mobile Device

  • Apple® and Android™: The EBSCO eBooks app is available on the App Store® or Google Play™
  • Although these apps are available, in general, using the Bluefire app gives the user a better experience. See the Other Devices Page of this guide for details.

Gale Virtual Reference Library ebooks will have a Find Online tab beneath the title.

 

 

 

 

Off-Campus only: you will be prompted to enter your W number and password.

 

 

 

No other steps are needed to access the book, although you will have a better reading experience if you click the Open source in new window option under the Find Online tab.

The Gale Virtual Reference Library collection includes the following encyclopedias:

  • Achieving Sustainability: Visions, Principles, Practices 2 Vol
  • The Basics of Cyber Safety: Computer and Mobile Device Safety Made Easy
  • Black Literature Criticism
  • Body Systems
  • Business Plans Handbook
  • Consumer Health Care
  • Developing Therapeutics for Alzheimer's Disease: Progress and Challenges
  • The Encyclopedia of Animated Cartoons
  • Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
  • Encyclopedia of Business and Finance
  • Encyclopedia of Small Business
  • Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity
  • Encyclopedia of Management
  • Energy In Context
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Pregnancy And Childbirth
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Senior Health
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests
  • Health Reference Series: Mental Health Disorders Sourcebook
  • Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Canadian Provinces
  • Librarian's Guide to Online Searching: Cultivating Database Skills for Research and Instruction
  • Library Programs and Services: The Fundamentals
  • Manual of Obstetrics
  • Memories of the Enslaved: Voices from the Slave Narratives
  • Salem Health:Psychology & Behavioral Health
  • Supporting the Education of Children with Autism Spectrum Disorders
  • Women's Health Psychology
Loading