Subject Guides: Automotive Service and Repair, Motorcycle, and Power Products Repair: Find your sources

Shared resources

Journals and Magazines

Car and Motorcycle magazines - curated list
A collection of online magazines for car and motorcycle enthusiasts.
Covers shown are a sample of what is available when you click the link.

Overdrive Car and Motorcycle magazine titles
There are over 300 magazines about cars and motorcycles available on OverDrive.
Collection is continuously updated.

Databases

CCOHS Databases
Licensing Terms

Access to a wide variety of resources on the topic of occupational health and safety provided by the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health & Safety (CCOHS). Includes MSDS, CHEMINFO, CSA Standards and the Canadian Electrical Code as well as environmental legislation at the federal and provincial level.
Chilton Library
Licensing Terms

The Chilton Library application allows you to browse through a robust list of vehicles in order to obtain vehicle
specific information including:
- Repair Procedures
- Technical Service Bulletins/Recalls
- Labor Estimation
- Vehicle specific Maintenance schedules and much more.
CSA OnDemand
Licensing Terms
CSA OnDemand is a searchable library of standards from the Canadian Standards Association. It provides continually updated standards for online viewing and downloadable PDFs. Select "My Library" to access available content.
Get Started with CSA OnDemand
Canadian Newsstream
Licensing Terms
Local and regional news coverage - access to the full text of over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers.
Career and Technical Education Database
Licensing Terms
The definitive source for vocational information and career search resources. The database includes nearly 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text for quick access to research on virtually any technical topic.
SafetyHub
Licensing Terms

Video library of Workplace Health & Safety and Skills Training videos.

It's a Gas! by gestalten (Editor); Sascha Friesike (Editor); Jay Leno (Preface by)
It's a Gas! explores the surprisingly diverse world of the gas station--a functional high tech temple, a transit zone, a film set, a converted residence, or an abandoned ruin hidden in a backyard. The world of pumps is full of surprises, ready to be discovered in this book.
Auto Body Repair Technology by James E. Duffy; Jonathan Beaty
Providing comprehensive coverage of collision repair--from initial evaluation and estimating, to structural and mechanical repairs, to repainting and refinishing--this trusted guide will help you quickly and confidently learn the skills and procedures you need to succeed as a professional automotive technician.
eBook Careers in Technical Services and Equipment Repair by Salem Press
Careers in Technical Services & Equipment Repair provides a current overview and a future outlook of specific occupations in the technology and equipment maintenance industries, examining more than 30 areas in the technology and equipment maintenance field.
Auto Fundamentals by Martin W. Stockel; Martin T. Stockel; Chris Johanson
The information in this textbook begins with the fundamentals of automotive technology and builds upon them to offer a complete operational view of the modern automobile.
Automotive Maintenance and Light Repair by Rob Thompson
Features color-coded safety information for easy reference, new content on advanced drive assistance systems (ADAS) and updated layouts and imagery to make content more appealing.
eBook Fundamentals of Automotive Technology by Kirk VanGelder
Covers fundamentals and advanced topics for all automotive systems.

Associations

Automotive Industries Association of Canada
The voice and resource that leads innovation in Canada’s auto care industry.
National Automotive Trades Association
Supporting Canada's automotive professionals.

Websites

Automotive Recyclers of Canada
The national voice of the automotive recycling industry, representing, through its provincial affiliates, 350 end-of-life vehicle (ELV) recyclers and dismantlers throughout Canada.
Canadian Automotive Industry
The Automotive and Transportation Industries Branch (ATIB) is responsible for developing and implementing policies, initiatives and services aimed at encouraging innovation, international competitiveness, and sustainable growth in the automotive, truck, and rail sectors.
Car Talk
Honest Car Advice,from Real Mechanics, Owners, and Knuckleheads
Red Seal
A Red Seal endorsement is a seal on your provincial or territorial trade certificate. It shows that you have the knowledge and skills necessary to practice your trade across Canada.
Transport Canada: Road Transportation
Statistics, safety standards, recalls, and road safety in Canada.
Kelley Blue Book
KBB.com gives you everything you need to research a new, certified (CPO) or used car, compare cars, find cars for sale and make a well-informed decision.

Off Campus Access

You can use NSCC Libraries' e-resources off-site by logging in with your w# and password (the same login information you use for your NSCC email).