If Canadian content or authorship is important start with a Canadian repository; BC Open Textbook Project, eCampus Ontario or Atlantic OER. See the list of repositories below.
OER repositories are not static. New materials are added frequently.
Don't know where to start? We will teach you!
Contact the Copyright Office or your Campus Library for support.
Submit a request for a curated OER list -- one will be created to match your course outcomes or search criteria.
Search for content published on Pressbooks Networks.
• Filter to see all NSCC titles on NSCC LIbraries Pressbooks by entering NET:NSCC into the search box.
• Created in 2012
• Funded by the BC Ministry of Advanced Education
• Creative Commons Licensing
• Canadian content
• Accessible formats and test banks available for many titles
• Includes textbooks targeting post-secondary trades and skills training.
• Searchable in OER Commons.
Another way to search for BC Open Textbook content.
In partnership with BCcampus, and in the footsteps of other provincial online learning centres like OpenEd Manitoba, eCampusOntario has created this new virtual Open Textbook Library, established to offer learners a repository of resources which are licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed.
Ibiblio.org is a collaboration of the School of Information and Library Science and
Information Technology Services at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 98 different sources and contains 368,234 records.
• Integrated search tool – includes open education resources from multiple OER databases.
• Creative Commons Licensing
• Can filter search results by 9 different criteria including license type, subject, level, material type
• Over 120 major content partners
• Includes BC Open TextBook, Open Textbook Library, OpenStax and more ...
• Search across collections to access over 30,000 items
• Initiative of Rice University and philanthropic partners
• Creative Commons Licensing
• An open space where educators can share and freely adapt educational materials.
• Authors are encouraged to write each page to stand on its own so that others can easily use it in different collections.
• Tens of thousands of learning objects, called pages, that are organized into thousands of textbook-style books
• Initiative of Rice University and philanthropic partners
• Creative Commons Licensing
• Can filter textbook lists by 5 subject areas
• Peer-reviewed, written by subject experts, available in multiple formats
• Searchable in OER Commons
• Established by State University of New York libraries
• Creative Commons licensing
• No filtering of results
• Small but growing collection of open textbooks
• Center for Open Education and Open Textbook network – over 200 active network campuses
• Creative Commons licensing – All textbooks are open
• No filtering of results
• Growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.
• Over 220 textbooks in 11 categories
• Searchable in OER Commons
• Run by Constitution Foundation, an education nonprofit based in Washington DC
• Creative Commons licensing – Most materials are open with CC-BY-3.0 license
• No filtering of results
• 100+ books, course resource guides, also includes courses that can be remixed, revised and shared.
Searching for OERs ... where do you start?
