Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books, articles, etc. referred to in the course.
Learning Reconsidered by Learning Reconsidered argues for the integration of all of higher education's resources in the education and preparation of the whole student. The publication re-examines widely accepted ideas about conventional teaching and learning and questions whether current organizational patterns in higher education support student learning and development in today's environment. This landmark publication builds upon historical student affairs statements that focus on student affairs as a profession and is a critical resource for every student affairs professional.
An Introduction to Student Development theory by This primer has been prepared to provide information on student development theory, along with observations on practical applications of theory that apply to common interactions with students.
Additional resources on 21st Century learners.
Motivation, Leadership and Curriculum Design by This book discusses the links between the basis of motivational, leadership and curricular constructs with regards to 21st century and net-generation learning. It brings together recent developments in motivation, educational leadership and curriculum design in order to offer a better understanding of what is already known and what is yet to be explored in these fields. It consists of a collection of findings on recent educational developments, including topics such as motivating the 21st century learner, leadership practices and influences, curriculum design and models, novel learning environments and 21st century learners and their needs.
Academic OneFile Licensing Terms
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. Includes extensive coverage in key subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology
Education Database Licensing Terms
Provides access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
Educator's Reference Complete Licensing Terms
Provides periodical and journal articles on multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, testing, administration and more.
Proquest Central Licensing Terms
A large single periodical resource, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Click on Change Databases to view a complete list of resources and coverage.
Teacher Reference Center Licensing Terms
Contains over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. This is not a full text database.
Looking for an eBook?
NSCC has access to over 200,000 eBooks. You can find information on how to download eBooks to devices on our eBook Guide.
Type in a title or search term in the box below to locate relevant eBooks.