Subject Guides: Culinary Arts: Find your resources

Shared resources

Fresh, Local, and Delicious by Shaun Zwarun
This cookbook is a celebration of the amazing local foods and flavours and Indigenous traditions that make Cape Breton and Nova Scotia such an exciting place for visiting, living and dining!
Mitji-Let's Eat! by Margaret Augustine; Lauren Beck; Patricia Bourque (By (photographer))
An intergenerational source of wisdom and knowledge, Mitji combines a cultural history of Mi'kmaw cuisine with a practical cookbook. This book is an invitation to celebrate and practice Mi'kmaq foodways: the recipes passed down from one generation to the next; the way traditional foods and medicines are gathered, hunted, and cooked; and the lived experience of ancestors and Elders about how to nourish the spirit and body through Mi'kmaw culture and knowledge.
Seed to Plate, Soil to Sky by Lois Ellen Frank
In Seed to Plate, Soil to Sky, James Beard Award-winning author and chef Lois Ellen Frank introduces the splendor and importance of this Native culinary history and pairs it with delicious, modern, plant-based recipes using Native American ingredients. Along with Native American culinary advisor Walter Whitewater, Seed to Plate, Soil to Sky shares more than 100 nutritious, plant‑based recipes organized by each of the foundational ingredients in Native American cuisine as well as a necessary discussion of food sovereignty and sustainability.
eBook Corn Dance by Loretta Barrett Oden; Beth Dooley (Contribution by)
Corn Dance invites readers to join Loretta Oden on her inspiring journey into the Indigenous heritage, and the exhilarating culinary future, of North America.
Modern Native Feasts by Andrew George Jr.
Native American cuisine comes of age in this elegant, contemporary collection that reinterprets and updates traditional Native recipes with modern, healthy twists.
Where People Feast by Annie Watts; Dolly Watts
One of the very first cookbooks dedicated to Native North American food, mother and daughter team Dolly and Annie Watts have created a truly original recipe book.
First Nation's Cookbook by Sandra McGrath
This book contains Native American recipes, hunter's recipes and a few Appalachian recipes.
First Nations Recipes by Gregory Lepine
The recipes in this book feature ingredients at the foundation of Aboriginal culture, such as salmon, venison, bison, fiddleheads, wild rice and berries, and include brief descriptions of their historic relationship with that food.
A Feast for All Seasons by Robert Gairns; Andrew George Jr.
Traditional North American Native peoples' cuisine has existed for centuries, but its central tenet of respecting nature and its bounty have never been as timely as they are now.

eBook Dictionary of Flavors by Dolf De Rovira
Dictionary of Flavors features entries on all flavor ingredients granted G.R.A.S. status, compounds used in the formulation of food flavors, and related food science and technology terms. Allergies and intolerances are addressed, along with strategies to avoid allergenic compounds.
Native American Food Plants by Daniel E. Moerman
Based on 25 years of research that combed every historical and anthropological record of Native American ways, this unprecedented culinary dictionary documents the food uses of 1500 plants by 220 Native American tribes from early times to the present.
Dictionary of Food Ingredients by Robert S. Igoe
A unique, easy-to-use source of information on over 1,000 food ingredients and additives.
Eating Your Words by William Grimes (Editor)
William Grimes, former restaurant critic for The New York Times, covers everything from bird's nest soup to Trockenbeerenauslese in this wonderfully informative food lexicon.
The Cook's Essential Kitchen Dictionary by Jacques L. Rolland
A fascinating blend of food history, etymology, anecdotes, origins and culture.
Pocket Dictionary of Food Safety by Jeffrey T. Solate
The book delivers a comprehensive list of definitions that are commonly used in the food industry and in the testing of food products as well as in food service facilities and restaurants.

Journals and Magazines

Food & Wine magazines - curated list
The magazines shown offer a small sampling of the titles available in the link above. login required

Overdrive Food & Wine magazine titles
There are over 700 magazine titles on the subjects of food and wine available online on OverDrive.
Collection is continuously updated.

Databases

CCOHS Databases
Licensing Terms

Access to a wide variety of resources on the topic of occupational health and safety provided by the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health & Safety (CCOHS). Includes MSDS, CHEMINFO, CSA Standards and the Canadian Electrical Code as well as environmental legislation at the federal and provincial level.
CKBK
Licensing Terms
Complete content from the best classic and contemporary cookbooks from the UK, USA and beyond.
Culinary Arts
Licensing Terms

More than 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines, providing access to not only numerous recipes but industry news and practical instruction.
Hospitality and Tourism

Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism as well as full-text travel guides from Fodor's.
ProQuest Central Premium
Licensing Terms
Discover extensive, foundational full-text scholarly content from journals, magazines, news sources, trade publications and more. A dynamic, multidisciplinary resource with video, ebooks, A&I resources, and primary sources.
SafetyHub
Licensing Terms

Video library of Workplace Health & Safety and Skills Training videos.

Making It by Ellen T. Meiser
Making It explores how the career path of restaurant workers depends on their accumulation of kitchen capital, a cultural asset based not only on their ability to cook but also on how well they can fit into the workplace culture and negotiate its hierarchical structures.
Foodie Places by Sarah Baxter; Amy Grimes (Illustrator)
A mouthwatering, beautifully illustrated tour of the tastiest, most diverse food on the specials board of the planet.
Complete Recipe Writing Guide by Raeanne Sarazen
The Complete Recipe Writing Guide shows you how to create professional recipes from development to publication.
The Razor Edge Book of Sharpening by John Juranitch
The result of over 30 years of dedicated research and study on the subject of cutting edges.

Websites

Avec Eric
Provides an insider’s view of the professional life and lifestyle of one of the greatest chefs in the world today. Includes recipes.
Canadian Food Inspection Agency
Mitigating risks to food safety is the CFIA's highest priority, and the health and safety of Canadians is the driving force behind the design and development of CFIA programs.
Chef's Resources
A culinary information tool for kitchen management.
East Coast Kitchen
For years I have had an obsession with food. Beyond simply eating delicious meals, I’ve been fascinated by the process of cooking. The heat, sounds, smells, successes, and failures. To me cooking is meditative; a creative and physical outlet that allows me to relax, focus, and explore. (Andy Hay)
Recipes and a Blog
Flavour Network
Canada to feature chef recipes, full shows, tons of expert cooking tips, the latest food news and endless entertainment.
Government of Canada Food Safety
Learn safety tips for all food types. Also find information to protect those who are vulnerable to food poisoning.
Health Canada Food and Nutrition
Safe food and good nutrition are important to Canadians. Maintaining the safety of Canada's food supply is a shared responsibility among government, industry and consumers. Eating a nutritious and balanced diet is one of the best ways to protect and promote good health.
Taste of Nova Scotia
A unique, province-wide, marketing program, whose members are committed to offering the very best culinary experience Nova Scotia has to offer.

Associations

Canadian Culinary Federation
The goal of the Culinary Federation is to unite chefs and cooks across Canada.
International Association of Culinary Professionals
Development and exchange of information, knowledge, and inspiration within the professional food and beverage community.
Research Chef's Association
A professional community for culinologists, food research and development.
Restaurant Association of Nova Scotia
Through advocacy, marketing, cost savings, resources and events, RANS has been an essential force keeping the restaurant industry vibrant and growing.
Restaurants Canada
Times have changed since Restaurants Canada was founded as the Canadian Restaurant Association in 1944, but our purpose remains the same: to help foodservice businesses grow and prosper!

image from the movie promotion for the menu

The Menu / Le menu (2022)
Login required
Expecting nothing less than the best of everything haute cuisine has to offer, a group of ultra-wealthy gastronomes with a demanding palate arrive at the Hawthorn: an exclusive culinary temple run by highly regarded gourmet chef Julian Slowik. And prepared for an exquisite multiple-course meal and the experience of a lifetime, obsessive epicurean Tyler and his unimpressed plus-one Margot enter the private minimalist restaurant. At last, the long wait is over. However, no one knows that the cryptic genius in the kitchen has big plans for tonight. After all, the imperious culinary artist has been stretching the boundaries of taste and fine dining for decades. Now, the host can finally unveil his magnum opus. But is the blasé clientele ready for Julian's creative madness?

CBC Curio
Licensing Terms

CBC's streaming video platform designed to provide advertisement-free access to high quality educational content
Criterion-on-Demand
Licensing Terms

Over 2,600 feature film & documentary titles from a wide variety of major producers. Includes English, French and Subtitled/Captioned versions (where available).

Includes Public Performance Rights for NSCC hosted events.
Films on Demand
Licensing Terms

Films On Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that provides access to 39, 500 full length videos and 300,000 segments.
* All films can be shown in the classroom.
** Films on Demand offer Closed Captioning.
LinkedIn Learning
Licensing Terms

LinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. From this link:
1. Select Sign in
2. Sign in using your NSCC email eg. jane.doe@nscc.ca
3. Select "Recommended for Nova Scotia Community College"
SafetyHub
Licensing Terms

Video library of Workplace Health & Safety and Skills Training videos.

eBook Cook Together, Eat Together by Cooperative Extension Service University of Kentucky, Cooperative Extension Service, Family and Consumer Sciences Extension
Cook Together, Eat Together is designed to help families enjoy more home-cooked, healthy meals. Featuring easy recipes for breakfast dishes, soups, vegetables, salads, and one-pot meals, the book lays out a strategy to enable families to spend more quality time together while also preparing foods that are affordable and delicious.
Milk Street: Cook What You Have by Christopher Kimball
Milk Street will help you transform whatever you already have into bright, bold meals from around the world.
Perfectly Good Food by Irene Li; Margaret Li
How to cook flexibly and fight food waste, with 80 recipes and 150 ideas to use up what you have.
Whole Food for Your Family by Autumn Michaelis; Melissa Hartwig Urban
Over 100 budget- and family-friendly recipes from Whole30 Coach and creator of the popular cooking website Whole Food for 7, Autumn Michaelis.;
Plant-Based on a Budget Quick and Easy by Toni Okamoto; Michael Greger (Foreword by)
When we're crunched for time, cooking something healthy and tasty often falls off our to-do lists. But with a little planning (and some smart recipes), eating well can fit into even the busiest day.

Tips from our chefs

Chef Kettley says:

Prepare meals like soups, stews, pasta sauces, etc... in bulk
- freeze the leftovers in meal-size portions
- reheat a healthy, inexpensive meal when you are hungry (or too busy to cook)

Chef Haverstock says:

Eat meatless once or twice a week to save money
Prepare frood from scratch with healthy ingredients
Create or join a supper club
- a fun way to share meal prep & the cost of food
- enjoy eating together & learning new recipes

Chef Mooney says:

Schedule time for food prep to make cooking easy later in the week
- cook your protein (ie: cook a whole chicken rather than buying individual pieces)
- prepare fresh vegetables

Chef Canning says:

Buy inexpensive cuts of meat and cook with a low-temperature methods (slow cooker, stewing)
- lots of flavour & nice as the weather turns colder