Below are some resources that will be helpful to students and faculty across several of our academic upgrading programs. These recommended resources include important websites, databases and streaming video platforms that can assist you with your studies and assignments.
For some helpful resources specific to your courses, visit the subject area pages to the left.
NSCC Magazine Databases
NSCC Journal Databases
A searchable database of the well known print source but also provides access to high calibre web sites, journal articles, video/audio clips and more.
Global Issues in Context integrates news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more in a single search. It is updated daily and offers 250 different country topic pages and more than 400 Issue pages.
GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Topics include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations.
NSCC News Databases
Provides timely access to the best newswire content available from around the globe.
Canadian Newspapers
NSCC Libraries provides access to thousands of online streaming videos. All of our collections can be shown in the classroom and have Closed Captioning.
Search the NSCC Video Collection: Type in a title or key words in the search box below and press search.
CBC's streaming video platform designed to provide advertisement-free access to high quality educational content
Over 2,600 feature film & documentary titles from a wide variety of major producers. Includes English, French and Subtitled/Captioned versions (where available).
Films On Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that provides access to 39, 500 full length videos and 300,000 segments.
* All films can be shown in the classroom.
** Films on Demand offer Closed Captioning.
LinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. From this link:
Visit the Streaming Video Guide or contact your Campus Library for information on the collections, what they cover, and how to search for films.
Throughout your program, you may need to use images as part of class presentations, research papers, or assignments in other formats. Check out the resources below to get started.
NSCC Image Database
2,500,000+ Rights Cleared Images (no copyright issues)! Can be used for PowerPoint presentations, assignments, promotional brochures and pamphlets.
Creative Commons and Public Domain Images
Copyright & Images