International Business: Find Internet Resources

The Canadian International Merchandise Trade (CIMT) online database offers detailed trade data using the Harmonized System (HS) classification of goods (based on the 60 digit commodity level). Select a trading partner and specific variables (e.g. country, province, state, year, month, or frequency) or search by commodity or Harmonized System code .You can create customized reports or download data in CSV format.

The UN Comtrade database contains more than 3.1 billion trade records starting from 1962 that are free to access online. Some fees are charged for additional services and bulk downloads. Data is compiled in monthly and yearly formats by country and by commodity. Statistics are also broken down into International Merchandise Trade Statistics, Statistics of International Trade in Services, Distributive Trade Statistics and Compilation of Basic Economic Statistics

Doing Business provides objective measures of business regulations for local firms in 190 economies.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) works with Canadians in all areas of the economy and in all parts of the country to improve conditions for investment, enhance Canada's innovation performance, increase Canada's share of global trade and build a fair, efficient and competitive marketplace.

Trade Data Online provides the ability to generate customized reports on Canada and U.S. trade
in goods with over 200 countries.

Your EU gateway to trade information for exporters and importers.

The UNdata site provides United Nations (UN) collected data from 34 globally connected databases. It is very useful for comparing countries and their respective stats or indicators or trade data, economic topics or socio-demographic trends. The international sources of data include: UN, FAO, WIPO, UNWTO, WHO, OECD, ITU, IMF, and other agencies.

The World Databank is an online web resource that provides simple and quick access to collections of time series data. It has advanced functions, available for registered users, for selecting and displaying data, including enabling customized queries, downloading of data and creating charts and maps. Users can generate dynamic custom reports based on their selection of countries, indicators and years. Unregistered users can generate customized reports, view tables, charts and maps and download data.

The CAED is an online tool designed to eliminate the manual reporting process form called B13A and it allows exporters or their agents to report the export of their goods to the Canadian government electronically.

This site, form the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada, is a comprehensive resource for Canadian exports who need to know about Export Controls. The site includes links to the following critical information for exporters:
• Controlled Products & Export Controls
• Latest updates regarding import & export regulations
• Printable forms
• The import and export controls systems
• Guides and publications

This is a highly detailed explanation of the classification of commodities using the HS method.

This site is an excellent overview of exporting regulations with links to further information related to regulations for exporting Canadian goods and dealing with importing country regulations, laws and Canadian contacts and resource supports.

If you’re a first time exporter, this is a brief but comprehensive resource that highlights the critical actions and information related to exporting.

Use this online tool to determine the appropriate tariff based on HS Code. The site also provides high level details on tariffs and it provides contact information to query further when you have questions.

This is a link to the Web-based tool for submitting online applications for export permits and international import and delivery verification certificates, as well as to request amendments, submit online quarterly utilization reports for military goods, and print selected permits in your office.

Developed and run by the European Commission, this site is useful for understanding the requirements and taxes for exporting to the EU. Information available on the site includes: trade statistics, business contacts for taxation organizations, EU import requirements, and a look-up table for import tariffs.

Another great resource. This one is targeted specifically towards SME’. It’s an in-depth and detailed guide with references to specific types of good, trade incentive, and a weather of links to further and related information.

Register to receive email alerts regarding Canadian International standards based on industry interest.