Subject Guides: Health Information Management: Find your sources

Online Resources

Anatomy.TV
Licensing Terms

3D computer-generated models of human anatomy. You may manipulate the images by rotating, zooming, and peeling away layers, while viewing accompanying text. Also contains interactive quizzes.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database
Licensing Terms
Canadian content that covers topics such as current events, business, education, science and medicine, arts, law, academia, and lifestyles.
CINAHL
Licensing Terms

CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.
Cochrane Library
Licensing Terms
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Through CAUL, NSCC provides barrier-free, direct access for anyone physically located in the Atlantic Region without the need to login.
Gale PowerSearch
Licensing Terms

Cross-searches Gale OneFile, Gale In Context, Gale Literature and Gale eBooks datatabases. Does not search Gale Business: Insights, Chilton's Library or Gale Health & Wellness
Health & Medical Research Collection
Licensing Terms

Offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
Health and Medicine
Licensing Terms

Provides access to leading medical journals and reference books, as well as nursing and allied health information.
Health and Wellness
Licensing Terms

Provides access to nearly 400 health and medical journals, as well as other full text content.
Healthcare Administration Database
A collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations. Covering the following topic areas: Health administration, Health professions, Hospitals, Insurance, Law, Statistics, Business, Personnel, Ethics, and more.
Nursing and Allied Health
Licensing Terms

Provides access to authoritative content supporting nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
PubMED
Licensing Terms

The National Library of Medicine's premier database which provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life sciences journals. This is not a full text database.

Canadian Health Information Management Association
Represents more than 3,700 certified Health Information Management (HIM™) professionals from across Canada in addition to 1,300 affiliate, student and retired members.
Canadian Institute for Health Information
Provides essential data and analysis on Canada’s health system and the health of Canadians.
CancerQuest
CancerQuest is a cancer education and outreach program at Emory University that provides reliable information about cancer biology and treatment.
Health Canada
Health Canada's Web site is a client-centred integrated point of access to one of the Government of Canada's collection of health related resources.
MedLinePlus
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. It includes access to the Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary, the A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia, tutorials and other materials.
Public Health Agency of Canada
Protects the health and safety of Canadians through the prevention of chronic disease and injuries, public health emergencies, and infectious disease.

Recommended Video

[Video]. The Data Science of Healthcare, Medicine, and Public Health (2022). Barton Poulson. LinkedIn Learning.
Data analytics plays an increasingly pivotal role in how we go about managing our healthcare systems and personal health. This nontechnical course explores a variety of ways to apply data science to medicine and public health.

Video Databases

NSCC has access to a variety of Streaming Video collections. All collections can be shown in the classroom and have Closed Captioning.

CBC Curio
Licensing Terms

CBC's streaming video platform designed to provide advertisement-free access to high quality educational content
Criterion-on-Demand
Licensing Terms

Over 2,600 feature film & documentary titles from a wide variety of major producers. Includes English, French and Subtitled/Captioned versions (where available).

Includes Public Performance Rights for NSCC hosted events.
Films on Demand
Licensing Terms

Films On Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that provides access to 39, 500 full length videos and 300,000 segments.
* All films can be shown in the classroom.
** Films on Demand offer Closed Captioning.
LinkedIn Learning
Licensing Terms

LinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. From this link:
1. Select Sign in
2. Sign in using your NSCC email eg. jane.doe@nscc.ca
3. Select "Recommended for Nova Scotia Community College"
SafetyHub
Licensing Terms

Video library of Workplace Health & Safety and Skills Training videos.

Our subscriptions include Public Performance Rights which gives NSCC users permission to show videos in class as part of lessons or presentations. For more information on our collections and how to use them, see the Streaming Video Guide or contact your Campus Library.

Off Campus Access

You can use NSCC Libraries' e-resources off-site by logging in with your w# and password (the same login information you use for your NSCC email).