Subject Guides: Machining: Find your sources

Resources by subject/format

CCOHS Databases
Licensing Terms

Access to a wide variety of resources on the topic of occupational health and safety provided by the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health & Safety (CCOHS). Includes MSDS, CHEMINFO, CSA Standards and the Canadian Electrical Code as well as environmental legislation at the federal and provincial level.
Career and Technical Education Database
Licensing Terms
The definitive source for vocational information and career search resources. The database includes nearly 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text for quick access to research on virtually any technical topic.
Vocations and Careers
Licensing Terms

Provides current and applicable periodical content to aid in career and vocational research -- from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database
Licensing Terms
Canadian content that covers topics such as current events, business, education, science and medicine, arts, law, academia, and lifestyles.
SafetyHub
Licensing Terms

Video library of Workplace Health & Safety and Skills Training videos.

Modern Machine Shop
Modern Machine Shop is the leading publication in North America devoted to CNC machining. To report on the ways CNC machining technology is advancing and succeeding, our staff writers travel the world exploring the ways job shops, contract shops and captive operations use machining equipment, processes and strategies to become more effective and efficient.
American Machinist
Free access (with email registration) to American Machinist articles.
Canadian Metalworking
Canadian Metalworking is a trade publication that covers all aspects of Canada's metalworking industry. It includes the latest news, products, and insights to keep readers aware of the latest industry trends.
Machine Design Magazine
Machine Design keeps a constant finger on the pulse of the design engineering universe with the most extensive research program in the industry.
IQS Resource Center
IQS offers a free comprehensive listing of manufacturers and suppliers serving major segments of the OEM industrial manufacturing marketplace across the United States and Canada.

SafetyHub
Licensing Terms

Video library of Workplace Health & Safety and Skills Training videos.

Protolabs. (2020, May 1). CNC machining: The basics [Video]. https://youtu.be/lEyNWtM6MW4

Accessing eBooks

eBook Subject Guide
For help with downloading and transferring NSCC eBooks.

Off Campus Access

You can use NSCC Libraries' e-resources off-site by logging in with your w# and password (the same login information you use for your NSCC email).