Subject Guides: Marine Navigation Technology: Find Articles

Ocean Learning Platform

Ocean Learning Platform
The ultimate in maritime e-learning. Accessible, repeatable, measurable – a learning solution for the 21st century vessel, available wherever you are in the world.

Note: The Ocean Learning Platform requires users to be registered and uses a separate username and password for login (it does not use your W# & password for login).
Please contact library staff or your faculty to obtain the login information.

Recommended Databases

CCOHS Databases
Licensing Terms

Access to a wide variety of resources on the topic of occupational health and safety provided by the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health & Safety (CCOHS). Includes MSDS, CHEMINFO, CSA Standards and the Canadian Electrical Code as well as environmental legislation at the federal and provincial level.
Gale General OneFile
Licensing Terms

General OneFile is a comprehensive general-interest resource providing periodical and news information. In addition, General OneFile also features more than 500 travel guides; a full collection of National Public Radio programs from 1990 to the present, including searchable transcripts; links to over 5,000 video files including shows like the Today Show, NBC Nightly News, NRO TV and Meet the Press; more than 3,000 full-text titles recommended by Bowker’s “Magazines for Libraries”.
ProQuest Central
Licensing Terms
A large single periodical resource, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Click on Change Databases to view a complete list of resources and coverage.
Gale Academic OneFile
Licensing Terms

Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. Includes extensive coverage in key subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database
Licensing Terms
Canadian content that covers topics such as current events, business, education, science and medicine, arts, law, academia, and lifestyles.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Licensing Terms

Free, open access to more than 5000 full-text periodicals from 134 countries.

Off Campus Access

You can use NSCC Libraries' e-resources off-site by logging in with your w# and password (the same login information you use for your NSCC email). Please see the Journals and Periodicals Guide for help locating articles.