Skip to main content

Accessibility and NSCC Libraries

This guide provides an overview of how NSCC Libraries provide accessible library services and resources to NSCC students and employees.

What is Streaming Video?

Streaming Video means delivering video content to you via an Internet connection, without requiring any additional equipment or downloading. NSCC subscribes to four Streaming Video collections, plus LinkedIn Learning.  Films on Demand, National Film Board of Canada, and CBC Curio.ca are covered here.

Films on Demand

Films on Demand Accessibility Statement

"We continue to improve accessibility for Films On Demand in our efforts to meet and maintain a WCAG 2.0 AA level of compliance.”


Setting Preferences

Preferences for interface can be set and saved in Your Profile > Account Settings. Here you can:

  • Set default Google Translate Language (for interactive transcripts)
  • set your default citation type
  • Apply caption settings for font size, colour, background colour.
  • Set active page tools

Under Your Profile, you can also change the entire Films on Demand background colour by turning On or Off Dark Theme.

More information: Account Settings Instructions

Closed Captioning

If this option is available, a CC button will appear in the video control panel. Click on this button to toggle captions on and off. You may also create a Films on Demand account and set your personal preferences to always show closed captioning.

More Information: Instructions on How to Find Videos with Closed Captioning

Interactive Transcripts

Interactive Transcripts also available for many videos. Interactive transcripts allow you to view the full text of the video, search within the full text, or click on any word in the transcript to jump to that exact point in the video.  If you prefer this format for videos, you can use the Advanced Search feature to limit your search only to videos that provide interactive transcripts.

More Information: Using the Interactive Transcript for videos

 

National Film Board of Canada

NFB Accessibility Notice

"The NFB is committed to equitable access to information, regardless of the technologies used. We are continually striving to make our site accessible to all, including persons with disabilities and to those who use assistive devices.

The Websites are developed according to the Common Look and Feel Standards for the internet, including the Accessibility Standards which require compliance with the World Wide Web Consortium’s (W3C) Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) Guidelines Version 1.0 – Priority 1 and 2 Checkpoints"

Closed Captioning and Described Video

The National Film Board of Canada has made many of its online films available with closed captioning for the deaf and described video for people with vision loss.   When closed captioning or described video is available for a given film, the DV or CC icon will appear in the control bar of the video player. Clicking on the icon will start the alternative version of the film.  

Accessibility Channel

The NFB Accessibility Channel is a collection of animation and documentary films with video description. You can find this by clicking on Films on the left side of the screen, select Channels, scroll down to Accessibility.

Other Tips

NFB provides detailed instructions for:

  • Navigating a Web page using the Tab key
  • Navigating the website using access keys
  • How to use access keys in your browser
  • Controlling the NFB.ca video player without using a mouse

CBC Curio

CBC Accessibility Statement

“New CBC.ca projects undergo assessments to ensure that they follow accessibility guidelines and best practices. We work hard to ensure that CBC.ca complies with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 AA (WCAG 2.0 AA), an internationally accepted standard developed by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C).”

Closed Captioning

CBC Curio has some closed captioning available. You can filter results to only show content with Closed Captioning:

  1. Use the Advanced Search located beneath the Search Curio.ca search field in the top right of your screen.
  2. Scroll down and check Closed Captioning, Available.

Other Tips

CBC Curio provides Tips for Browsing on CBC.ca and Elsewhere on the Web. This includes:

  • instructions on magnifying the screen
  • customizing the mouse pointer
  • text-reading features

Criterion-on-Demand

Criterion-on-Demand offers Closed Captioned Titles when available. From the film page, scroll down to the versions available. Look for English Audio with English Subtitles or Foreign Audio with English Subtitles. Select a version with subtitles.