Subject Guides: Carpentry, Woodworking & Masonry: Find your sources

Common Building Resources

Below are some resources that will be helpful to students and faculty across several of our building programs. These recommended resources include important websites, databases and streaming video platforms that can assist you with your studies and assignments.
For some helpful resources specific to your program, visit the program pages to the left.

Building Resources

CSA OnDemand
Licensing Terms
CSA OnDemand is a searchable library of standards from the Canadian Standards Association. It provides continually updated standards for online viewing and downloadable PDFs. Select "My Library" to access available content.
Get Started with CSA OnDemand

National Building Code of Canada
The National Building Code of Canada (NBC) 2020, developed by the Canadian Commission on Building and Fire Codes and published by the National Research Council of Canada, sets out technical requirements for the design and construction of new buildings, as well as the alteration, change of use and demolition of existing buildings

CCOHS Databases
Licensing Terms

Access to a wide variety of resources on the topic of occupational health and safety provided by the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health & Safety (CCOHS). Includes MSDS, CHEMINFO, CSA Standards and the Canadian Electrical Code as well as environmental legislation at the federal and provincial level.
Home Improvement
Licensing Terms

Provides full-text content from more than 200 home improvement periodicals.
Career and Technical Education Database
Licensing Terms
The definitive source for vocational information and career search resources. The database includes nearly 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text for quick access to research on virtually any technical topic.
Vocations and Careers
Licensing Terms

Provides current and applicable periodical content to aid in career and vocational research -- from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database
Licensing Terms
Canadian content that covers topics such as current events, business, education, science and medicine, arts, law, academia, and lifestyles.

SafetyHub
Licensing Terms

Video library of Workplace Health & Safety and Skills Training videos.
Films on Demand
Licensing Terms

Films On Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that provides access to 39, 500 full length videos and 300,000 segments.
* All films can be shown in the classroom.
** Films on Demand offer Closed Captioning.

Canadian Construction Association
The Canadian Construction Association (CCA) is the national voice for Canada’s institutional, commercial, industrial, civil and multi-residential construction industr.
Canadian Home Builders' Association
The Canadian Home Builders' Association (CHBA) is the voice of Canada's residential construction industry.
Red Seal Program
A Red Seal endorsement is a seal on your provincial or territorial trade certificate. It shows that you have the knowledge and skills necessary to practice your trade across Canada.
Nova Scotia Apprenticeship Agency
We help manage the trades training and certification system in Nova Scotia.
Emerging Construction Technologies (Purdue University)
Emerging Construction Technologies are technologies that could produce a "High Impact" in the construction industry.
Carpentry Calculators

Off Campus Access

You can use NSCC Libraries' e-resources off-site by logging in with your w# and password (the same login information you use for your NSCC email).