Subject Guides: Continuing Care: Find your sources

Online Resources

Anatomy.TV
Licensing Terms

3D computer-generated models of human anatomy. You may manipulate the images by rotating, zooming, and peeling away layers, while viewing accompanying text. Also contains interactive quizzes.
CINAHL
Licensing Terms

CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.
Cochrane Library
Licensing Terms
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Through CAUL, NSCC provides barrier-free, direct access for anyone physically located in the Atlantic Region without the need to login.
CPS Full Access
Licensing Terms

The online version of the CPS (Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties) combines the content of the print CPS and Therapeutic Choices texts. It provides health care providers with a robust, intuitive tool to quickly investigate drug and/or therapeutic information. This database can be used by those researching in the areas of: pharmacology, drug monographs, drug interactions, product identification, as well as those interested in finding out more about over the counter (OTC) medications and general information on diseases and disorders.
Gale eBooks
Licensing Terms
Searchable collection of electronic encyclopedias, handbooks, and general reference books.
Health and Medicine
Licensing Terms

Provides access to leading medical journals and reference books, as well as nursing and allied health information.
Health and Wellness
Licensing Terms

Provides access to nearly 400 health and medical journals, as well as other full text content.
Ovid Nursing Journals, Ebook & Streaming Video
Licensing Terms
eBooks and Streaming Video.
Full text access to the following journals:
- AJN, American Journals of Nursing
- Home Healthcare Now
- Nursing
- Nursing Critical Care
- Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!
Research Library
Licensing Terms
One-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.

CPS Handout

AJN: American Journal of Nursing
The American Journal of Nursing is the oldest and most honoured broad-based nursing journal in the world. Peer reviewed and evidence-based, it is considered the profession's premier journal. AJN adheres to journalistic standards that require transparency of real and potential conflicts of interests that authors, editors and reviewers may have.
Home Healthcare Now
Home Healthcare Now is the professional, contemporary journal serving the educational and communication needs of home care and hospice nurses. The journal is highly interactive and timely, focusing on the multidimensional, interdisciplinary and specialty practice areas of home care nursing. Clinical, operational, and educational home care nursing issues are the core of the publication; plentiful columns and features focus on practical, up-to-date approaches to everyday situations, as well as analysis and interpretation of how healthcare trends affect the home care nurse's practice.
Nursing
Nursing is a peer-reviewed journal of clinical excellent first published in 1971. This award-winning publication provides practical information for all nurses on a comprehensive range of nursing topics, including clinical and professional information on drugs, diseases, nursing care strategies, and legal/ethical issues.
Nursing Critical Care
Nursing Clinical Care is a peer-reviewed journal that presents the latest practical clinical and professional information in a clear, concise, hands-on approach, so critical care nurses can apply this information to everyday practice.
Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!
The Nursing Made Incredibly Easy! journal is based on the popular and successful Incredibly Easy! book series for nurses. The mission of this peer-reviewed journal is to meet the ongoing educational needs of nurses through the publication of information that presents challenging clinical concepts in a refreshingly original, easily understood format that engages nurses and gives them confidence. In short: simpler language, smarter learning. Articles are contributed by experienced clinicians, ensuring that content is evidence-based.

Alzheimer Society of Canada
Provides support, information and education to people with Alzheimer's disease and related dementias, families, physicians and health-care providers
Canadian Cancer Society
A community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer
Canadian Home Care Association
The leadership voice and access point for information knowledge for home care and community care
Canadian Institute for Health Information
Provides essential data and analysis on Canada’s health system and the health of Canadians.
Cancer.gov
Accurate, up-to-date, comprehensive cancer information from the U.S. government's principal agency for cancer research.
Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)
Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed) - A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.
Genetics Home Reference
Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.
Indigenous Health - Canadian Nurses Association
First Nations, Inuit and Métis are diverse populations whose health is affected by all social determinants of health, as well as a complex history of colonialism, racism, and residential schools. Social determinants have a significant impact on disease and recovery experiences within these communities. - See more at: https://cna-aiic.ca/en/on-the-issues/better-health/indigenous-health#sthash.pPBqSqaG.dpuf
Indigenous Health - Government of Canada
Access the First Nations and Inuit home and community care program, health services and nursing care. Also find support for former students of Indian residential schools.
Lab Tests Online
Lab Tests Online has been designed to help you, as a patient or family caregiver, to better understand the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
Nova Scotia Centre on Aging
Launches research projects, continuing education initiatives, and community outreach activities that promote and maintain autonomy and quality of life for the elderly population and their families
Nova Scotia Continuing Care Program
A program of the Department of Health that serves people who need ongoing care outside of hospital, either on a long-term or short-term basis
Nova Scotia Hospice Palliative Care Association
Promotes the philosophy and principles of palliative care through networking, education, advocacy and research

Off Campus Access

You can use NSCC Libraries' e-resources off-site by logging in with your w# and password (the same login information you use for your NSCC email).