Subject Guides: Continuing Care: Streaming Video

Films on Demand Nursing Collection for CCA

Body Mechanics
A series of videos on differing body systems and mechanics as selected by CCA faculty.
Clinical Skills
A series of clinical skills videos as selected by CCA faculty.
Personal Care
A selection of videos on patient care as selected by CCA faculty.
Nursing Assessment
A series of nursing assessment videos as selected by CCA faculty.

FOD Collections

Administering Medication: Clinical Skills Essentials Collection
This series of short videos examines the fundamental aspects of medication administration.
Bathing and Perineal Care: Clinical Skills Essentials Collection
These videos cover essential techniques and best practices for providing bathing and perineal care to patients, ensuring their hygiene, comfort, and dignity.
Collecting and Testing Specimens: Clinical Skills Essentials Collection
This series of instructional videos guides healthcare professionals through the proper techniques for collecting and testing various specimens
Dealing With Conflict: Clinical Skills Essentials Collection
This series offers valuable insights into effective communication and conflict resolution for healthcare practitioners. These videos emphasize the importance of clear, compassionate communication in patient care.
Elimination: Clinical Skills Essentials Collection
In this collection, healthcare professionals learn essential skills related to patient elimination processes. The videos cover techniques for promoting proper bowel and bladder function while maintaining patient dignity and comfort.
Measuring Vital Signs: Clinical Skills Essentials Collection
In this collection, healthcare professionals learn the essential skills required for measuring vital signs accurately. These videos emphasize the significance of vital signs in patient assessment and care.
Nursing Professionalism
This program discusses the document that is at the foundation of the nursing profession: the code of ethics. It considers a obligations to patients, confidentiality, autonomy, collaboration, continuing education, and ethical dilemmas. It also looks at the core values that guide nurses.
Nutrition and Fluids: Clinical Skills Essentials Collection
This series provides guidance on ensuring proper nutrition and hydration for patients. It covers techniques for administering and monitoring nutritional support and fluid intake.
Patient Movement: Clinical Skills Essentials Collection
This series focuses on safe and efficient patient movement techniques. Healthcare professionals learn how to transfer and position patients while preventing injury and discomfort.
Suctioning and Airway Care: Clinical Skills Essentials Collection
This series provides vital information on airway management and suctioning techniques. Healthcare professionals learn to maintain clear airways and prevent respiratory complications.
Transferring and Positioning Patients: Clinical Skills Essentials Collection
In this collection, healthcare professionals learn skills for transferring and positioning patients safely and comfortably. The series highlights the importance of maintaining proper body mechanics to prevent injuries.
Venipuncture and Infusions: Clinical Skills Essentials Collection
This series provides instruction on venipuncture and intravenous infusion techniques.
Wound Care: Clinical Skills Essentials Collection
This series teaches aspects of wound care, showing wound assessment, dressing changes, and infection prevention to facilitate optimal wound healing.

Streaming Videos

NSCC has access to a variety of Streaming Video collections. All collections can be shown in the classroom and have Closed Captioning.

CBC Curio
Licensing Terms

CBC's streaming video platform designed to provide advertisement-free access to high quality educational content
Criterion-on-Demand
Licensing Terms

Over 2,600 feature film & documentary titles from a wide variety of major producers. Includes English, French and Subtitled/Captioned versions (where available).

Includes Public Performance Rights for NSCC hosted events.
Films on Demand
Licensing Terms

Films On Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that provides access to 39, 500 full length videos and 300,000 segments.
* All films can be shown in the classroom.
** Films on Demand offer Closed Captioning.
LinkedIn Learning
Licensing Terms

LinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. From this link:
1. Select Sign in
2. Sign in using your NSCC email eg. jane.doe@nscc.ca
3. Select "Recommended for Nova Scotia Community College"
SafetyHub
Licensing Terms

Video library of Workplace Health & Safety and Skills Training videos.

Our subscriptions include Public Performance Rights which gives NSCC users permission to show videos in class as part of lessons or presentations. For more information on our collections and how to use them, see the Streaming Video Guide or contact your Campus Library.