Subject Guides: Mechanical and Industrial Technologies : Find your sources

Websites

Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers
The Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers (IISE) is dedicated solely to the support of the profession, is an international, nonprofit association that provides leadership for the application, education, training, research, and development of industrial and systems engineering.
Canadian Process Control Association
The only trade association for the instrumentation, automation and process industry in Canada, the Canadian Process Control Association is comprised of member companies involved in the development, production, sales and service of process control and automation products and systems.
American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
ASME is a not-for-profit membership organization that enables collaboration, knowledge sharing, career enrichment, and skills development across all engineering disciplines, toward a goal of helping the global engineering community develop solutions to benefit lives and livelihoods.
Construction Association of Nova Scotia
The Construction Association of Nova Scotia (CANS) is an industry trade association representing more than 700 large and small companies that build, renovate and restore non-residential buildings, roads, bridges and other engineering projects.
Technology Professionals Canada
TPC establishes and maintains national competency standards for certifying members in the following 14 applied science and engineering technology disciplines: bioscience, industrial, building, instrumentation, chemical, mechanical, civil, mining, electrical, petroleum, electronics, geomatics, forestry, and information technology.

American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is a private, non-profit organization that administers and coordinates the U.S. voluntary standards and conformity assessment system. Founded in 1918, the Institute works in close collaboration with stakeholders from industry and government to identify and develop standards- and conformance-based solutions to national and global priorities.
International Standards Organization (ISO)
ISO, the International Organization for Standardization, brings global experts together to agree on the best way of doing things – for anything from making a product to managing a process. As one of the oldest non-governmental international organizations, ISO has enabled trade and cooperation between people and companies all over the world since 1946. The International Standards published by ISO serve to make lives easier, safer and better.
National Institute for Standards and Technology
From nanoscale devices that power the most advanced microchips to earthquake-resistant skyscrapers, NIST’s measurements and research fuel innovation and improve the quality of life for all Americans. NIST provides support and resources to U.S. manufacturing, helping to grow the economy and ensure national security.
Standards Council of Canada
The Standards Council of Canada (SCC) is a federal Crown corporation. It has its mandate to promote efficient and effective standardization in Canada.

Canadian Industry Statistics (CIS)
Canadian Industry Statistics (CIS) analyses industry data on many economic indicators using the most recent data from Statistics Canada. CIS looks at industry trends and financial information, such as GDP, Labour Productivity, Manufacturing and Trade data.
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED)
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) works with Canadians in all areas of the economy and in all parts of the country to improve conditions for investment, enhance Canada's innovation performance, increase Canada's share of global trade and build a fair, efficient and competitive marketplace.
Nova Scotia Technical Safety
The Technical Safety Division ensures public and workplace safety by enforcing regulations for equipment in Nova Scotia. Part of the Department of Labour, Skills and Immigration, it promotes a strong safety culture through compliance, prevention, and education—supporting community well-being and economic stability through high safety standards and best practices.

E-books

Machine Learning-Based Fault Diagnosis for Industrial Engineering Systems by Rui Yang; Maiying Zhong. (2022).
This book presents advanced techniques for precision compensation and fault diagnosis in industrial systems using machine learning and deep learning. It includes experimental case studies on CNC machining, rotating machinery, and precision motion systems, offering practical insights into intelligent diagnostics and control for engineers and researchers in industrial engineering.
Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning for Industry 4. 0 by M. Thirunavukkarasan (Editor); S. A. Sahaaya Arul Mary (Editor); Sathiyaraj R. (Editor); G. S. Pradeep Ghantasala (Editor); Mudassir Khan (Editor). (2025).
This book is essential for any leader seeking to understand how to leverage intelligent automation and predictive maintenance to drive innovation, enhance productivity, and minimize downtime in their manufacturing processes. Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning for Industry 4.0 offers contemporary technological advancements in AI and machine learning from an Industry 4.0 perspective, looking at their prospects, obstacles, and potential applications.
Handbook of Engineering Management: The Digital Economy by Lunevich, Lucy, editor. (2024).
This handbook explores engineering management in the digital economy, emphasizing systems thinking, strategic leadership, and sustainable impact. It covers knowledge management, digital manufacturing, and economic growth strategies. Ideal for engineering managers, project leaders, and graduate students seeking to navigate complex systems and drive innovation across technical and organizational domains.

Instrumentation and Control Systems by William Bolton. (2021).
This practical guide introduces modern instrumentation and control systems, covering smart devices, safety, PLCs, and simulation tools. It blends theory with real-world applications, including Laplace transforms and noise reduction. Designed for beginners, it supports learning through case studies, problem sets, and minimal math prerequisites—ideal for introductory engineering courses.
Industrial Automation Technologies by Chanchal Dey (Editor); Sunit Kumar Sen (Editor). (2022).
This book explores the evolution of automation, covering PLC, DCS, SCADA, and Fieldbus technologies. It examines wireless communication, IoT, and IIoT in industrial settings, and introduces OPC as a key standard for data exchange. A comprehensive guide for understanding modern process control and integration in industrial automation systems.

Mechanical Engineering by Suwarno Suwarno (Editor); Abdel El Kharbachi (Editor); Mohammad Khoirul Effendi (Editor); Yohanes (Editor). (2023).
This edition contains articles presented and selected from 5th International Conference on Mechanical Engineering (ICOME 2021), virtually held on August 25-26, 2021. The publication considers actual issues in engineering research and design in areas of machinery, biomedical engineering, waste and biomass conversion technologies, as well as quality control and failure analysis in power plant equipment. The publication will be useful to specialists in mechanical engineering, biomedicine, power energy production and environmental engineering.

Accessing e-books

E-book Subject Guide
NSCC Libraries provides access to thousands of eBooks! This guide provides tips and tricks for searching and accessing them.

Databases

CCOHS Databases
Licensing Terms

Access to a wide variety of resources on the topic of occupational health and safety provided by the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health & Safety (CCOHS). Includes MSDS, CHEMINFO, CSA Standards and the Canadian Electrical Code as well as environmental legislation at the federal and provincial level.
CSA OnDemand
Licensing Terms
CSA OnDemand is a searchable library of standards from the Canadian Standards Association. It provides continually updated standards for online viewing and downloadable PDFs. Select "My Library" to access available content.
Get Started with CSA OnDemand
SafetyHub
Licensing Terms

Video library of Workplace Health & Safety and Skills Training videos.
Statistics Canada - Data Search
Licensing Terms

A socioeconomic database containing data on almost all aspects of Canadians' lives. If you find data that mentions it is only available through EFT (electronic file transfer), you can email us with the details of the data you need; please include a link to the web page.

Videos

[Video playlist] Manufacturing & Engineering. (2024).
(NSCC W# and password required)
This course offers a deep dive into Manufacturing & Engineering, focusing on effective communication in industrial settings. You'll learn about legal rights and responsibilities, planning, team collaboration, and maintaining working relationships for successful operations. Modules cover LEAN principles, continuous improvement, and problem-solving techniques essential for modern manufacturing.
[Video playlist] What is the Fourth Industrial Revolution? (2018).
(NSCC W# and password required)
The Fourth Industrial Revolution is going to change our lives and build on the technologies that changed the world over the last 200 years. Steam power generated the first industrial revolution; the second harnessed electricity and mass production; the digital revolution began in the 70’s; and now the fourth industrial revolution is driven by new technologies such as artificial intelligence, robotics, the internet of things, autonomous vehicles, 3-D printing, nanotechnology, biotechnology, materials science, energy storage and quantum computing.

[Video playlist] Fundamentals of observability with OpenTelemetry. (2024).
(NSCC W# and password required)
In this course, you will learn about how Observability can help SREs and Software Engineers make sense of what’s going on in their systems. You will also learn about OpenTelemetry: what it is, how it supports Observability goals, how OpenTelemetry instrumentation works, and how the OpenTelemetry Collector and OpenTelemetry Operator further enhance OpenTelemetry’s capabilities. You will put OpenTelemetry theory into practice with hands-on exercises which include instrumenting a Python application with OpenTelemetry, configuring the OpenTelemetry Collector, and deploying and configuring the OpenTelemetry Kubernetes Operator. Finally, you will learn what pitfalls to avoid when setting up an Observability practice, to ensure that you and your teams are positioned for success, and explore some advanced Observability use cases supported by OpenTelemetry.

[Video] Computer-aided Design Drafter: Career Beginnings. (2019).
(NSCC W# and password required)
What is it like to be a Computer-Aided Design Drafter? In this Career Q&A video interview, Ambrose Kharkongor talks about his career path, what he does on the job, and the keys to success in computer-aided design. He also offers candid advice on breaking into the profession as well as insight into the industry’s biggest challenges and how the field may change in the next ten years.
[Video] Made in Canada Series: Canadian Entrepreneurship. Clearpath Robotics. (2016).
(NSCC W# and password required)
Canada is a hotbed of innovation and ambition, in a world of accelerating and constant change. This series presents the stories of five Canadian entrepreneurs who have built successful companies. Each has found and met a need of its customers. Their success resulted from hard work, initiative, research, and a willingness to adapt to a constantly changing world. Clearpath Robotics designs and manufactures unmanned systems that can be used for mining, military, academic, and industrial applications. CEO and Founder Matt Rendall chose the University of Waterloo's Mechatronics Engineering program because it sounded the hardest. During the program, he developed an interest in building robots and that eventually led to the 2009 development of his multi -million dollar company.

Off Campus Access

You can use NSCC Libraries' e-resources off-site by logging in with your w# and password (the same login information you use for your NSCC email).