Subject Guides: Pharmacy Technician: Find your sources

Internet Resources

Anatomy.TV
Licensing Terms

3D computer-generated models of human anatomy. You may manipulate the images by rotating, zooming, and peeling away layers, while viewing accompanying text. Also contains interactive quizzes.
CINAHL
Licensing Terms

CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.
CPS Full Access
Licensing Terms

The online version of the CPS (Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties) combines the content of the print CPS and Therapeutic Choices texts. It provides health care providers with a robust, intuitive tool to quickly investigate drug and/or therapeutic information. This database can be used by those researching in the areas of: pharmacology, drug monographs, drug interactions, product identification, as well as those interested in finding out more about over the counter (OTC) medications and general information on diseases and disorders.

Health and Medicine
Licensing Terms

Provides access to leading medical journals and reference books, as well as nursing and allied health information.
Health and Wellness
Licensing Terms

Provides access to nearly 400 health and medical journals, as well as other full text content.
Statistics Canada - Rich Data Services (RDS)
Statistics Canada’s Rich Data Services is "Statistics Canada’s analytical platform for Public Use Microdata files (PUMFs) and their metadata. The RDS Explorer and Tabulation Engine's user-friendly interfaces allow users to browse, interact, and download data and metadata for online or offline analysis."

Understanding Drug Interactions (OER eModule)
This e-module aims to improve drug safety by providing learners with an understanding of the mechanisms by which drugs interact with other drugs, natural health products and foods. Rather than addressing each drug interaction that has been reported, this module will focus on understanding the mechanisms by which drugs and other substances interact to enable learners to predict the likelihood of drug interactions.
Working Together in the Pharmacy: Promoting Practice Readiness to Full Scope
This project developed three virtual immersive simulations for pharmacy and pharmacy technician students in Ontario reflecting current issues in pharmacy practice, promoting intra-professional collaboration and social cohesion. The three patient care scenarios are: 1. an elderly patient with symptoms of the common cold, 2. a child with a rash requiring a non-sterile compounded prescription, and 3. a pregnant woman with questions about the COVID-19 vaccine.
Safe Pharmacy Simulation
The Safe Pharmacy Simulation game is an open educational resource (OER) developed by a team of interprofessional educators to promote employment integration of internationally educated health professionals by building their work readiness skills. It provides learners of any profession working in a medication dispensing setting with opportunities to develop and apply safety-focused best practices for processing and dispensing medications.

Anatomy & Physiologogy (Open Stax textbook)
Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements.
Canadian Association of Pharmacy Technicians
CAPT will advocate and promote the role of the pharmacy technician and pharmacy support staff and the advancement of the profession CAPT will support and empower pharmacy technicians and pharmacy support staff in the pursuit of practice excellence.
Health Canada
Health Canada is responsible for helping Canadians maintain and improve their health. It ensures that high-quality health services are accessible, and works to reduce health risks.
Indigenous Pharmacy Professionals
The Indigenous Pharmacy Professionals of Canada (IPPC) is an Indigenous-led association that has been established to connect and support Indigenous pharmacy professionals and help all pharmacists provide better care to Indigenous patients by creating and promoting pharmacy practice models that respect the safety, equality, strengths and teachings of the Indigenous Peoples of Canada.
National Association of Pharmacy Regulatory Authorities (NSPRA)
The National Association of Pharmacy Regulatory Authorities (NAPRA) is a voluntary association of provincial and territorial pharmacy regulatory bodies as well as the Canadian Forces Pharmacy Services. Our members regulate the practice of pharmacy and operation of pharmacies in their respective jurisdictions in Canada and their primary mandate is to protect the public.
Neighbourhood Assocation of Pharmacy Technicians
We are focused on the business of neighbourhood pharmacy to ensure our members can continue to deliver the convenient, professional patient care products and services on which Canadians rely. Our commitment is repaid in trust, as 80% of Canadians consult their pharmacists for professional healthcare, at nearly 9,000 neighbourhood pharmacies across the country.
Nova Scotia Health Authority
Mission: To achieve excellence in health, healing and learning through working together
Vision: Healthy people, healthy communities – for generations
Pharmacist's Letter Canada
Evidence-based drug information resource.
Pharmacy Association of Nova Scotia
PANS supports the professional and economic interests of its members to advance the practice of pharmacy and improve the health of Nova Scotians.
Public Health Agency of Canada
The Public Health Agency of Canada empowers Canadians to improve their health. In partnership with others, its activities focus on preventing disease and injuries, promoting good physical and mental health, and providing information to support informed decision making. It values scientific excellence and provides national leadership in response to public health threats.

Diseases & Conditions

Health Canada
Health Canada's Web site is a client-centred integrated point of access to one of the Government of Canada's collection of health related resources.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
Merck Manual - Professional Edition
A guide to disorders and diseases with information on causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment and drugs
Public Health Agency of Canada
Protects the health and safety of Canadians through the prevention of chronic disease and injuries, public health emergencies, and infectious disease.

Drug Information

Canadian Pharmacists Association
Information on drugs, therapeutics, pharmacy practice and continuing education.
Heath Canada Drug Products Database
Canadian federal authority that regulates pharmaceutical drugs and medical devices for human use. All of Health Canada’s warnings and advisories, warnings and recalls are available here.
Licensed Natural Health Products Database (LNHPD)
The Licensed Natural Health Products Database contains information about natural health products that have been issued a product license by Health Canada.
NAPRA Drug Schedule
Drug schedule from the National Association of Pharmacy Regulatory Authorities
Notice of Compliance (NOC) Database
A Notice of Compliance (NOC) is issued to a manufacturer following the satisfactory review of a submission for a new drug, and signifies compliance with the Food and Drug Regulations.
SafeMedication.com
Type the name of a medication in the search box to receive pharmacists info sheets on the administration and safety of over 700 medicines. Maintained by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.
Safe Medication Use
A Canadian initiative to prevent harmful medication incidents.

Off Campus Access

You can use NSCC Libraries' e-resources off-site by logging in with your w# and password (the same login information you use for your NSCC email).

Pharmacy Technician

Start Your Novanet Search Here

Start Your Journal Search Here

Internet Resources

Off Campus Access