Subject Guides: Power and Energy: Find your sources

eBooks

Energy Conversion: Methods, Technology and Future Directions. (2022). by Saurabh Mani Tripathi (Editor)
This edited book offers a valuable resource for engineers, scientists, and researchers interested in energy conversion technologies. It features thirteen carefully selected chapters that explore advanced topics in energy conversion and storage. The volume presents a comprehensive overview of current research and innovations in the field, making it a useful reference for those conducting studies or seeking inspiration in energy-related disciplines.
Renewable Energy Engineering. (2024). by Nick Jenkins; Janaka Ekanayake
This fully revised second edition offers a quantitative and accessible introduction to renewable energy technologies, ideal for senior undergraduate and graduate students in engineering and physical sciences. It covers key topics such as energy storage, off-grid systems, microgrids, and community energy, alongside updated chapters on wind, hydro, solar, marine, and bioenergy. The book includes practical insights into project development and operation, over 60 worked examples, and more than 150 homework problems. Additional online resources support extended learning and customizable coursework.
High Voltage Power Transformers. (2024). by Stefano Zunino; Marino Sforna; Fabrizio Ferrari
This book provides a comprehensive overview of the design, manufacturing, and operation of large power transformers used in high-voltage electrical networks. It covers autotransformers, shunt reactors, and key components such as magnetic cores, windings, and insulation. Topics include electromagnetic, thermal, and noise performance requirements, as well as the impact of DC components in converter transformers for VSC systems. Aimed at researchers, engineers, and advanced students, the book highlights technological innovations and offers insights into minimizing operational risks and leveraging advancements in transformer R&D for clean energy systems.

Accessing eBooks

Accessing eBooks
NSCC Libraries provides access to thousands of eBooks! This guide provides tips and tricks for searching and accessing them.

Databases

Career and Technical Education Database
Licensing Terms
The definitive source for vocational information and career search resources. The database includes nearly 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text for quick access to research on virtually any technical topic.
CCOHS Databases
Licensing Terms

Access to a wide variety of resources on the topic of occupational health and safety provided by the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health & Safety (CCOHS). Includes MSDS, CHEMINFO, CSA Standards and the Canadian Electrical Code as well as environmental legislation at the federal and provincial level.
Engineering Collection
Licensing Terms
Discipline-specific coverage spanning thousands of publications, many in full text.

Websites

National Institute of Power Engineers
The Institute of Power Engineers (IPE) is a Canadian national organization formed in 1940 to represent Power Engineers and increase the safety and reliability of Power Plant operations.
Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers
The Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers (IISE) is dedicated solely to the support of the profession, is an international, nonprofit association that provides leadership for the application, education, training, research, and development of industrial and systems engineering.
Electricity Canada
Together, Electricity Canada, its members and industry partners are at the forefront of Canada’s energy future, addressing current and emerging electricity issues and helping shape sound policy and regulator decision-making. (Website).
IEEE - Insitute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
IEEE is a global network of over 486,000 engineering and STEM professionals. Our core purpose is to foster technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity.

Canadian Standards Association
A not-for-profit membership-based association serving business, industry, government and consumers in Canada.
American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is a private, non-profit organization that administers and coordinates the U.S. voluntary standards and conformity assessment system. Founded in 1918, the Institute works in close collaboration with stakeholders from industry and government to identify and develop standards- and conformance-based solutions to national and global priorities.
ISO - International Standards Organization
ISO, the International Organization for Standardization, brings global experts together to agree on the best way of doing things – for anything from making a product to managing a process. As one of the oldest non-governmental international organizations, ISO has enabled trade and cooperation between people and companies all over the world since 1946. The International Standards published by ISO serve to make lives easier, safer and better.
National Institute for Standards and Technology
From nanoscale devices that power the most advanced microchips to earthquake-resistant skyscrapers, NIST’s measurements and research fuel innovation and improve the quality of life for all Americans. We provide support and resources to U.S. manufacturing, helping to grow the economy and ensure national security.
Technology Professionals Canada
TPC establishes and maintains national competency standards for certifying members in the following 14 applied science and engineering technology disciplines: bioscience, industrial, building, instrumentation, chemical, mechanical, civil, mining, electrical, petroleum, electronics, geomatics, forestry, and information technology.
IEEE Standards Association
IEEE Standards Association (IEEE SA) is a leading consensus building organization that nurtures, develops and advances global technologies, through IEEE. (Website).

Canadian Centre for Energy Information
The Canadian Centre for Energy Information (CCEI) is a convenient one-stop virtual shop for independent and trusted information on energy in Canada. It houses resources on all things energy-related, including production, consumption, international trade and much more. (Website).
Nova Scotia Department of Energy
The Department of Energy supports the use and development of energy resources to help increase energy security, create jobs, grow the economy and create social benefits. (Website).

Videos

[Video]. Power Plants. (2000). Modern Marvels.
(NSCC W# and password required)
People are able to control the climate, process information and tend to their health all thanks to electricity, which relies on power plants to get the job done. From coal to nuclear these plants are necessary get power where it is needed.

Video collections

NSCC has access to a variety of Streaming Video collections. All collections can be shown in the classroom and have Closed Captioning.

Our subscriptions include Public Performance Rights which gives NSCC users permission to show videos in class as part of lessons or presentations. For more information on our collections and how to use them, see the Streaming Video Guide or contact your Campus Library.

CBC Curio
Licensing Terms

CBC's streaming video platform designed to provide advertisement-free access to high quality educational content
Criterion-on-Demand
Licensing Terms

Over 2,600 feature film & documentary titles from a wide variety of major producers. Includes English, French and Subtitled/Captioned versions (where available).

Includes Public Performance Rights for NSCC hosted events.
Films on Demand
Licensing Terms

Films On Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that provides access to 39, 500 full length videos and 300,000 segments.
* All films can be shown in the classroom.
** Films on Demand offer Closed Captioning.
SafetyHub
Licensing Terms

Video library of Workplace Health & Safety and Skills Training videos.

Off Campus Access

You can use NSCC Libraries' e-resources off-site by logging in with your w# and password (the same login information you use for your NSCC email).