The research process is a flexible process that varies based on your goals and assignment requirements. It involves asking questions, finding answers and sharing what you have learned. Depending on your needs, the research process might include the following steps:
 |
Understand your assignmentLearn how to break down your assignment by reviewing the guidelines, grading rubric, due dates and citation requirements. |
 |
Develop your topicGet help exploring your topic. Learn how to find background information and key terms to better understand and refine your topic. |
 |
Find InformationLearn how to search for books, articles, websites, multimedia and other reliable sources using the library’s tools |
 |
Evaluate your sourcesLearn how to check if your sources are trustworthy, accurate, and useful for your assignment |
 |
Write and organize your ideasGet tips for writing a draft or outline, using sources to back up your ideas, and improving your writing through revising and editing. |
 |
Cite your sourcesLearn how to give credit to the sources you use in your work. Get help from the Library or Writing Center if you are not sure how to cite. |
Recommended resources: Local Chambers of Commerce and Business Associations
Databases: ABI/INFORM Collection, Business Insights, Business Market Research Collection, Career and Technical Education, Statistics Canada - Data Search, Statista
Market research is the process of gathering, analyzing, and interpreting information about a market, specifically about a target audience, competitors, and trends. It helps businesses make informed decisions by identifying customer needs, estimating market size, and spotting opportunities or challenges in the marketplace.
Key questions to consider:
There are two primary approaches to conducting market research:
Primary research involves gathering new, firsthand data directly from potential customers. This could include:
Secondary research uses existing data that has already been collected and published by others. This could include:
Refer to Creating Your Search Strategy on the NSCC Research Guide for research tips.
Recommended resources: Government of Canada SME (Small and Medium Enterprises) Profile: Tourism industries, NAICS codes - Canada - Accommodation and Food Services, NAICS codes - Canada, Arts - Entertainment, and Recreation
Databases: ABI/INFORM Collection, Business Insights, Business Market Research Collection, Career and Technical Education, Industry Overview - Hotels, Motels & Resorts
Industry research involves collecting and analyzing information about a specific industry to better understand its structure, trends, key players, and overall market conditions. This type of research is essential when evaluating the potential for launching a new business, entering a new market, or analyzing competitive dynamics.
Key questions to consider:
NAICS stands for the North American Industry Classification System. It is a standardized system used by the governments of Canada, the United States, and Mexico to classify businesses and industries based on the type of economic activity they engage in.
Each industry is assigned a unique six-digit NAICS code, which helps organize and compare data across sectors. These codes are used in economic research, market analysis, and business databases to find industry-specific information such as trends, competitors, and performance metrics.
The NAICS codes are a good search term to use when searching databases.
Refer to Creating Your Search Strategy on the NSCC Research Guide for research tips.
Recommended businesses to research: Marriott, Hilton, Accor, Four Seasons, Taj, Shangri-La
Recommended resources: Top businesses by annual sales, Hotels and Motels
Databases: Business Insights, Business Market Research Collection, Career and Technical Education, and Statista
Company research is the process of gathering information about a business or company to better understand its operations, financial performance, competitive position, and strategic direction. This type of research is often used for academic projects, investment analysis, job preparation, or starting a business.
When researching a company, consider examining the following aspects:
Relevant company information is rarely found in one single source. Some data may not be publicly available especially for privately held companies. Therefore, it is essential to combine open web searches with business databases.
For example, a company’s official website can offer valuable details:
Databases provide information on:
Refer to Creating Your Search Strategy on the NSCC Research Guide for research tips.