Subject Guides: Justice Law and Security: Find your sources

Resources by subject/format

Canadian criminal justice : a primer by Griffiths, Curt T.
"The text provides a succinct yet thorough introduction to the dynamic and complex Canadian criminal justice system for students without significant prior exposure to the field. In brief chapters, the text presents a current, accessible overview of the distinct parts of the criminal justice system as they are evolving in response to the social, political, and technological changes of the 21st century."
Challenging notions : critical victimology in Canada by Landau, Tammy
The expanded third edition of Challenging Notions introduces students to both the theoretical and the applied aspects of victimology and provides a critical foundation for evaluation. Tammy C. Landau, an expert in criminal justice, explores patterns of victimization in Canada, the experiences of Indigenous peoples in the criminal justice system, restorative approaches to victimization, and the challenges presented when the state is the perpetrator of crime.
An Introduction to Criminological Theory by Roger Hopkins Burke
Building on previous editions and the previous companion text, this book presents the latest research and theoretical developments in a socio-political context. All major theoretical perspectives are considered, including: * classical criminology, * biological and psychological positivism, * labelling theories, * feminist criminology, * critical criminology and left realism, * situation action theories * desistance theories, * social control theories, * the risk society, postmodern condition and terrorism.
Crime, deviance, and social control in the 21st century : a justice and rights perspective by Colaguori, Claudio,
(NSCC W# amd password required)
Crime, Deviance and Social Control in the 21st Century: A Social Justice Perspective seeks to go beyond traditional crime texts and introduce the reader to the study of crime, deviance and social control from a social justice and power interest perspective. It will provide comprehensive coverage of 21st Century issues in the study of deviance and control in a technological society, including current issues that haven't traditionally been given adequate coverage in current texts, such as the criminalization of dissent, the changing nature of what constitutes deviance, internet hate, self-harming, transgender identities, the growing rise of transnational criminal enterprises, internet fraud, current forms of enslavement, and the increased public attention on police practices.

Canadian criminal law and the Criminal Code : an introduction by Tavcer, D. Scharie,
Canadian Criminal Law and the Criminal Code: An Introduction, first edition, is the first brand new criminal Law text for criminology undergraduate students to be published in a generation. Its unique and accessible approach is designed to appeal to a wide variety of students, including those without a law background or who aren't planning on careers as lawyers. The text is laid out to mirror the process by which a person moves through the criminal justice system and interacts with justice system players, from pre-trial procedures through defences and sentencing.
Canadian law : an introduction by Boyd, Neil; Love, Helene; O'Doherty, Tamara
his is a core text for the Introduction to Canadian Law courses found in universities and colleges. It is written for students who may not intend to become legal professionals but still need an understanding of the law. The text combines the basic building blocks of Canada's public law system with broad social analysis of the legal order of Canada.
Communications and report writing for law enforcement professionals by Rosnick, Jeffrey S.; McAleer, Dianna; Roberts, John
Students will learn how to obtain, file, and process information, and how to navigate specific scenarios that require effective communications to manage conflict. With a greater focus on equity, diversity, and inclusion, this new edition features more comprehensive coverage of law enforcement’s relationships with Indigenous and LGBTQ2+ communities. It also features an expanded discussion of technology and social media, additional “Apply Your Knowledge” scenarios, and a new chapter focusing on resumés, cover letters, and job interview tips.
Behavioural Skills for Effective Policing by Mark Kilgallon (Editor); Martin Wright (Editor)
Behavioural skills are essential to effective policing practice and professional development, and are also embedded within the policing competency frameworks.As the police service looks to further redefine its role in the twenty-first century, this critical handbook covers the full range of these proficiencies, from building rapport, applying emotional intelligence, building empathy and resilience to diversity and difference, understanding ethics, and developing coaching and leadership skills. Each chapter is written by a distinguished serving or former senior police leader and/or policing scholar, bringing together a wealth of experience and understanding and applying this knowledge in context through key case studies and examples.
Introduction to Security Constulting by William F. Blake (Editor)
This unique book provides the private investigator with the information to become a proactive partner with the business owner in enhancing the safety and security within the business. The text includes information pertaining to the legal ramifications of negligent security claims; how to ensure employees are whom they claim to be; optimum utilization of security personnel and electronic security devices and systems; development of relevant security-related policies and procedures; and supervision and management controls.

ProQuest One Psychology
Licensing Terms
Resources for researching and studying psychology and counseling with authoritative multiformat content covering psychological conditions, therapy, research concepts, tests and more.
Criminal Justice
Licensing Terms

Access to over 700 journals on criminal justice topics, including law, law enforcement, homeland security, forensic science and more.
ProQuest One Social Sciences
Licensing Terms
Offers high-quality titles spanning anthropology, criminology, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, social work, and sociology.
Canadian Newsstream
Licensing Terms
Local and regional news coverage - access to the full text of over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers.
Opposing Viewpoints
Licensing Terms
Opposing Viewpoints in Context supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.
ProQuest Central Premium
Licensing Terms
Discover extensive, foundational full-text scholarly content from journals, magazines, news sources, trade publications and more. A dynamic, multidisciplinary resource with video, ebooks, A&I resources, and primary sources.
Statistics Canada - Data Search
Licensing Terms

A socioeconomic database containing data on almost all aspects of Canadians' lives. If you find data that mentions it is only available through EFT (electronic file transfer), you can email us with the details of the data you need; please include a link to the web page.
Statista
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries. Established in Germany in 2007, Statista operates in 13 locations worldwide and employs around 1,100 professionals.

Statista Get Started Guide : detailed instructions on searching and accessing data.
Britannica Image Quest
Licensing Terms

2,500,000+ Rights Cleared Images (no copyright issues)! Can be used for PowerPoint presentations, assignments, promotional brochures and pamphlets.

Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies
The Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies (CAEFS) has been the leading national organization supporting criminalized women since 1978.
CAEFS’ is represented by a National Office Team, and supports a network of 22 Elizabeth Fry Societies. Together, we envision a world that doesn’t rely on incarceration, with strong and well-resourced communities for all.
Canadian Security: The publication for professional security management
Website of the bimonthly magazine for Canadian security professionals. Includes a news feature that captures current security related stories in industry, retail, campus and other areas.
CANASA: Canadian Security Association
The Canadian Security Association (CANASA) is the national non-profit organization, established in 1977, dedicated to promoting the interests of its members and the safety and security of all Canadians.
Correctional Service Canada
The Correctional Service Canada (CSC) is responsible for managing institutions of various security levels and supervising offenders under conditional release in the community.
The John Howard Society
A RESTORATIVE APPROACH IS HUMAN-CENTERED
When criminalized people (re)integrate into society with a stable home and job, they have a chance to heal, along with their families and communities.We fill the practical gaps that may stand between them and a positive restart—from ‘boots and a resume’ to whatever people need to grow beyond poverty and their own history to find a new path.
Youth Justice Canada
Focused section of the Canadian Department of Justice website looking at youth justice.

Start your Journal Search Here

A journal is a publication that is published regularly and contains a collection of articles written by experts, researchers or professional in a specific field. They can be found in print, electronic or both forms of publication.

You can browse the NSCC Journal Search or use the NSCC journal Search window below. Type in the exact title, beginning of the title, or words from the title of the journal you are looking for.

There are also other methods to locate journals:

Search for journals in one of our NSCC Databases
Search for open access journals in the Directory of Open Access Journals
Search Google Scholar
Search Flipster Digital Magazines
Search Overdrive Magazines a collection of 4000+ magazine titles

Off Campus Access

You can use NSCC Libraries' e-resources off-site by logging in with your w# and password (the same login information you use for your NSCC email).