Subject Guides: Therapeutic Recreation: Find your sources

Resources by subject/format

Exercise and Physical Activity in Indigenous Health
Publication Date: 2023

Physical activity and exercise are integral parts of Indigenous identity, woven into cultural tradition throughout history. This resource aims to tell the story of physical activity, exercise, and health in Indigenous communities. Divided into four main sections, learners will begin their journey by uncovering some of the history of physical activity in Indigenous health. The learner will then explore and appreciate physical activity and health in Indigenous communities at the present time. Finally, learners will be guided towards moving forward in physical activity and health together. This resource may be used as a stand-alone online learning experience and/or for an academic course. Features include: wholistic learning objectives, informational text, suggested readings and videos, interactive activities, and opportunities to reflect on learning.
Functional and Occupational Performance in Older Adults by Bette R. Bonder; Noralyn D. Pickens; Vanina Dal Bello-Haas
Support the health, well-being, and quality of life of older adults! Here's the ideal resource for students who are preparing to work with older adults. This text discusses the complexity of the aging experience, the science that contributes to positive aging, and the specific considerations that occupational therapy practitioners must bring to their efforts to support older adults.
Nature-Based Allied Health Practice by Amy Wagenfeld; Shannon Marder
(Print & eBook copies available)
The benefits of interacting with nature for our social, cognitive, and physical wellbeing are well documented. But how practical is it to take therapy into nature, or bring nature into therapy? This evidence-based and accessible guide demonstrates easily workable, creative, tried-and-tested strategies for bringing nature into therapy. It includes simple and fun ready-to-go activity ideas.
Teaching Physical Education to Children with Autism by Bill Mokin
This book is an essential guide for how to teach fun and engaging physical education classes tailored to include the needs of autistic children and children with learning disabilities.
Introduction to Adaptive Sport and Recreation by Robin Hardin (Editor); Joshua R. Pate (Editor)
.Introduction to Adaptive Sport and Recreation is a groundbreaking text designed to address this need. Written and edited by a team of esteemed educators and professionals, this comprehensive textbook offers a broad exploration of sport and recreation for people with disabilities within the framework of sport management. It begins with social and theoretical discussions covering topics such as defining disability, confronting ableism, considering the concepts of inclusion versus integration, and understanding contact theory and social isolation theory.

Anatomy.TV
Licensing Terms

3D computer-generated models of human anatomy. You may manipulate the images by rotating, zooming, and peeling away layers, while viewing accompanying text. Also contains interactive quizzes.
CPS Full Access
Licensing Terms

The online version of the CPS (Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties) combines the content of the print CPS and Therapeutic Choices texts. It provides health care providers with a robust, intuitive tool to quickly investigate drug and/or therapeutic information. This database can be used by those researching in the areas of: pharmacology, drug monographs, drug interactions, product identification, as well as those interested in finding out more about over the counter (OTC) medications and general information on diseases and disorders.
CINAHL
Licensing Terms

CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.
Health and Medicine
Licensing Terms

Provides access to leading medical journals and reference books, as well as nursing and allied health information.
ProQuest One Health & Nursing
Licensing Terms
Provides a diverse mix of scholarly literature (1300 full-text peer-reviewed journals), clinical training videos (demonstrating best-practice techniques), reference materials, and evidence-based resources — including dissertations and systematic reviews.
ProQuest Central Premium
Licensing Terms
Discover extensive, foundational full-text scholarly content from journals, magazines, news sources, trade publications and more. A dynamic, multidisciplinary resource with video, ebooks, A&I resources, and primary sources.
Statista
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries. Established in Germany in 2007, Statista operates in 13 locations worldwide and employs around 1,100 professionals.

Statista Get Started Guide : detailed instructions on searching and accessing data.
Statistics Canada - Rich Data Services (RDS)
Statistics Canada’s Rich Data Services is "Statistics Canada’s analytical platform for Public Use Microdata files (PUMFs) and their metadata. The RDS Explorer and Tabulation Engine's user-friendly interfaces allow users to browse, interact, and download data and metadata for online or offline analysis."
LinkedIn Learning
Licensing Terms

LinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. From this link:
1. Select Sign in
2. Sign in using your NSCC email eg. jane.doe@nscc.ca
3. Select "Recommended for Nova Scotia Community College"

American Therapeutic Recreation Association
Recreational therapy, also known as therapeutic recreation, is a systematic process that utilizes recreation and other activity-based interventions to address the assessed needs of individuals with illnesses and/or disabling conditions, as a means to psychological and physical health, recovery and well-being.
Canadian Centre for Activity and Aging
The CCAA is unique in Canada as it promotes physical activity and the well-being of older adults through a combination of basic and applied research, educational resources and community-based programs.
Canadian Institute for Health Information
Provides essential data and analysis on Canada’s health system and the health of Canadians.
CTRA: Canadian Therapeutic Recreation Association
Genetics Home Reference
Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.
Indigenous Health - Government of Canada
Access the First Nations and Inuit home and community care program, health services and nursing care. Also find support for former students of Indian residential schools.
Medline Plus
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
NCTRC: National Council for Therapeutic Recreation Certification
Established in 1981, NCTRC is a non-profit, international organization dedicated to professional excellence for the protection of consumers through the certification of recreational therapists. Professional recognition is granted by NCTRC to individuals who apply and meet established standards for certification including education, experience, and continuing professional development. The Certified Therapeutic Recreation Specialist (CTRS) credential is offered to qualified individuals based on these stringent requirements.
Nova Scotia Therapeutic Recreation Association
N.S.T.R.A. is the professional association for the field of therapeutic recreation in Nova Scotia. It exists as a community of recreation therapy professionals; supporting, guiding and enhancing practices for therapeutic recreation.
Recreation Nova Scotia
Advocacy is a priority of Recreation Nova Scotia. Through active organizational and grassroots advocacy campaigns by RNS, policy and decision making in the province of Nova Scotia will positively affect the ability of recreation to facilitate the building of healthier futures.

Off Campus Access

You can use NSCC Libraries' e-resources off-site by logging in with your w# and password (the same login information you use for your NSCC email).