Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Practical Nursing: Home

This guide provides quick access to quality resources relevant to Practical Nursing

Featured Books

2022 Nurse's Drug Handbook
Nursing Skills in Supporting Mobility
Fast Facts about LGBTQ+ Care for Nurses: How to Deliver Culturally Competent and Inclusive Care
An Introduction to Indigenous Health and Healthcare in Canada
Journey Across the Life Span
Nursing Skills in Safety and Protection
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
Indigenous Peoples and Dementia: New Understandings of Memory Loss and Memory Care
Self-Care for New and Student Nurses
Clinical Nursing Calculations
Unfolding Health Assessment Case Studies for the Student Nurse
Clinicians Guide to Lgbtqia+ Care: Cultural Safety and Social Justice in Primary, Sexual, and Reproductive Healthcare
Auscultation skills breath & heart sounds
Nursing Care Plans: Guidelines for Individualizing Client Care Across the Life Span
Understanding Anatomy and Physiology : A Visual, Auditory, Interactive Approach
Teaching cultural competence in nursing and health care : inquiry, action, and innovation
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Nursing Beyond the Bedside
Human Anatomy: The Definitive Visual Guide
Handbook of Rural Aging

Featured Resources

Website

Alzheimer Journey - Video Series

Alzheimer Journey Series

The Alzheimer Journey is a resource for family caregivers. It consists of three videos that follow the three stages of Alzheimer's disease and a fourth video that explains how brain function is affected.  This series includes 4 modules: 1) The Road Ahead; 2) On the Road; 3) At the Crossroads; 4) Understanding Alzheimer’s Disease

 

Nova Scotia Health Authority (NSHA) Library Services
https://library.nshealth.ca/home

While you are on your clinical placement you can access the library at any NSHA location.  To find out the location of your local hospital check out the Locations & Hours Tab. 

Collections & Resources - this lists the available databases, journals, and resources for NSHA employees, including patient pamphlets, education guides & skill guides.

Staff Directory - Find out who your local library staff are here!