Subject Guides: Social and Community Supports Programs: Behavioural Interventions

Behavioural Interventions Resources

Treating Families on the Spectrum by Britney Fontes; Gwendolyn Edwards; Scott Browning
This book outlines how therapists and families who have a child with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) can use an ecological systems approach, which offers a holistic and nuanced model that treats the entire family system rather than just the individual. Filled with case studies and empirically supported suggestions from clinical practice, this comprehensive book provides an applied therapeutic model that supports the whole family, highlighting how various levels of autism can present differing challenges from a family systems lens.
Art As a Language for Autism by Jane Ferris Richardson
Art as a Language for Autism addresses the clinical challenges that are common in working with autistic spectrum disorder by exploring how artistic expression can provide a communicative language for younger clients who are set in their thought processes and preferences. Exploring how both art and play-based approaches can be effective tools for engaging therapeutic work, this book introduces strategies to help young clients find expressive "languages" that can fully support communication, expression, and empathic understanding, as well as build skills for relaxation, calming, and coping.
Intercultural Communication by Elizabeth Suen; Barbara A. Suen
Written to reflect a diverse Canada, Intercultural Communication is a practical guide that provides readers with effective approaches to intercultural communication theories and strategies.
People Skills for Behavior Analysts by Carmen Hall; Kimberly Maich; Brianna M. Anderson
People Skills for Behavior Analysts provides a much-needed introduction to the people skills needed to succeed as a behavior analyst. Divided into two primary parts - Foundational Skills and Specialized Skills - this book addresses an impressive breadth of people skills, focusing on intrapersonal and interpersonal skills, collaboration, consultation and training, leadership, and resource development. Relying on recent evidence-based practices and relevant literature tailored to meet the new BACB Task List, Professional & Ethical Compliance Code, and Supervised Independent Fieldwork requirements, the text includes contributions from leading figures from a wide variety of applied behavior analysis subfields to provide a truly balanced overview.
The Autism Dialogue Approach Handbook by Jonathan Drury
The Autism Dialogue Approach Handbook serves as both a comprehensive guide and a practical handbook for healthcare professionals, educators, caregivers and anyone engaging with the autism community. Jonathan Drury presents the Autism Dialogue Approach (ADA), a pioneering framework rooted in dialogue and mindfulness practices. It addresses the diverse needs of autistic and neurodivergent individuals, emphasising that 'the autism community' includes everyone, promoting an inclusive understanding of neurodiversity.
Supporting Positive Behaviour in Intellectual Disabilities and Autism by Tony Osgood
This highly practical book is an accessible and grounded handbook for addressing challenging behaviour in children and adults with intellectual or developmental disabilities (IDD), including autism. It recognises that challenging behaviour does not appear out of nowhere and is meaningful for the person exhibiting it. Behaviour can be communicative and an important signifier of underlying sensory or environmental issues. Focusing on a person-centred approach throughout, the book has advice and strategies for working with the client's families, support staff and professionals.

ProQuest Central Premium
Licensing Terms
Discover extensive, foundational full-text scholarly content from journals, magazines, news sources, trade publications and more. A dynamic, multidisciplinary resource with video, ebooks, A&I resources, and primary sources.
ProQuest One Psychology
Licensing Terms
Resources for researching and studying psychology and counseling with authoritative multiformat content covering psychological conditions, therapy, research concepts, tests and more.
ERIC
Licensing Terms

The premier source for education-related information
ProQuest One Education
Licensing Terms
Multiformat content needed for studying and researching education.
ProQuest One Social Sciences
Licensing Terms
Offers high-quality titles spanning anthropology, criminology, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, social work, and sociology.
Health and Medicine
Licensing Terms

Provides access to leading medical journals and reference books, as well as nursing and allied health information.
PubMED
Licensing Terms

The National Library of Medicine's premier database which provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life sciences journals. This is not a full text database.
Statista
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries. Established in Germany in 2007, Statista operates in 13 locations worldwide and employs around 1,100 professionals.

Statista Get Started Guide : detailed instructions on searching and accessing data.
Statistics Canada - Data Search
Licensing Terms

A socioeconomic database containing data on almost all aspects of Canadians' lives. If you find data that mentions it is only available through EFT (electronic file transfer), you can email us with the details of the data you need; please include a link to the web page.
CCOHS Databases
Licensing Terms

Access to a wide variety of resources on the topic of occupational health and safety provided by the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health & Safety (CCOHS). Includes MSDS, CHEMINFO, CSA Standards and the Canadian Electrical Code as well as environmental legislation at the federal and provincial level.
MedlinePlus
Licensing Terms

Health information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Licensing Terms

Free, open access to more than 5000 full-text periodicals from 134 countries.

Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA)
Autism Speaks
ATN/AIR-P Introduction to Behavioral Health Treatments
Many children with autism have challenges managing certain behaviors.
This tool kit provides parents with an overview of strategies you can use at home to limit challenging behaviors. It will also help you teach your child positive behaviors.
It includes an overview of behavioral treatments that you can seek out from qualified professionals.
Autism Canada
Autistic Self Advocacy Network
The Autistic Self Advocacy Network seeks to advance the principles of the disability rights movement with regard to autism. ASAN believes that the goal of autism advocacy should be a world in which autistic people enjoy equal access, rights, and opportunities.
Autistic not weird
A website sharing insights from a personal and professional perspective.
Autism Nova Scotia
Founded in 2002, Autism Nova Scotia (ANS) is a non-profit, registered charity located in Halifax, Nova Scotia. The original vision of Joan and Jack Craig, parents of an adult son with autism, today, ANS supports individuals with autism, their families, educators, healthcare professionals and researchers throughout Nova Scotia. (from website)
Behaviour Intervention Plan
Autism Aviators
Autism Nova Scotia has partnered with the Halifax Stanfield International Airport to create resources that will help prepare folks with Autism for travel at most airports
Autism Junction
Autism Junction is Canada’s Online Autism Service Directory
Canadian Child Welfare Research Portal

Off Campus Access

You can use NSCC Libraries' e-resources off-site by logging in with your w# and password (the same login information you use for your NSCC email).