Subject Guides: Social and Community Supports Programs: Child and Youth Care

Child & Youth Resources

Anti-Oppressive Child and Youth Care Critical Conversations by Andrea Christensen
This volume is a collaboration of academics, researchers, frontline professionals, students, and young people to share their unique lived experiences and relationships with child and youth care to come together and offer an understanding of what anti-oppressive practice means.
Communication Tools for Working with Traumatized Children and Teens by Hazel Nicholls (Illustrator); Richard Rose
This expert guide provides 50 essential tools and activities to use in practice with children and young people who have experienced trauma.
Trans Youth Stories by Lindsay Herriot (Editor); Kate Fry (Editor)
The first of its kind, Trans Youth Stories: An Intergenerational Dialogue after the "Trans Tipping Point" is a thematically organized collection of narratives, fiction, nonfiction, letters, poetry, graphics/comics, and visual pieces created by twenty-six Canadian transgender youth between the ages of ten to eighteen.
The Handbook of Complex Trauma and Dissociation in Children by Ana M. Gómez (Editor); Jillian Hosey (Editor)
The Handbook of Complex Trauma and Dissociation in Children is a comprehensive and truly vital text for both experienced professionals and novice clinicians alike.
eBook: Strong Helpers' Teachings: The Value of Indigenous Knowledges in the Helping Professions by Cyndy Baskin
The thoroughly updated third edition of Strong Helpers' Teachings skillfully illustrates the importance of Indigenous knowledges in the human services. Making space for the voices of many Indigenous and non-Indigenous scholars, practitioners, and service users, Cyndy Baskin's text models possible pathways toward relationship building and allyship.
Child and Youth Mental Health in Canada by Patricia Kostouros (Editor); Shemine Alnoor Gulamhusein (Editor); Brenda Thompson (Editor)
Child and Youth Mental Health in Canada, Second Edition is a relationally focused text that offers practical strategies for working with children, youth, and families who may struggle with mental health concerns. Available in print & eBook formats

ProQuest Central Premium
Licensing Terms
Discover extensive, foundational full-text scholarly content from journals, magazines, news sources, trade publications and more. A dynamic, multidisciplinary resource with video, ebooks, A&I resources, and primary sources.
ProQuest One Psychology
Licensing Terms
Resources for researching and studying psychology and counseling with authoritative multiformat content covering psychological conditions, therapy, research concepts, tests and more.
ProQuest One Social Sciences
Licensing Terms
Offers high-quality titles spanning anthropology, criminology, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, social work, and sociology.
ProQuest One Education
Licensing Terms
Multiformat content needed for studying and researching education.
Diversity Studies
Licensing Terms

This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.
Gender Studies
Licensing Terms
Gender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Sociology & Social Sciences Collection
Licensing Terms

Covers the international literature of sociology and social work alongside tangential fields within the social sciences. Ideal for interdisciplinary research, it includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as trade journals, magazines, dissertations, and more. .
ProQuest One Health & Nursing
Licensing Terms
Provides a diverse mix of scholarly literature (1300 full-text peer-reviewed journals), clinical training videos (demonstrating best-practice techniques), reference materials, and evidence-based resources — including dissertations and systematic reviews.
Psychology
Licensing Terms

Provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.

The Child Welfare League of Canada (CWLC)
"The Child Welfare League of Canada (CWLC) is the voice for vulnerable children in Canada. Established in 1994, CWLC is a national, membership-based organization dedicated to promoting the protection and well-being of vulnerable children, youth and their families. "
Children, Youth and Families
Government of Nova Scotia Community Services website that offers support information for children, youth and families.
Convention on the Rights of the Child
From UNICEF, an international human rights treaty focusing on children.
CYC-NET
The International Child and Youth Care Network (CYC-NET) is a registered non-profit and public benefit organization in South Africa; “to promote and facilitate reading, learning, information sharing, discussion, networking, support and accountable practice amongst all who work with children, youth and families in difficulty.”
(From the CYC-NET Constitution)
211 Nova Scotia
Referrals to programs and services across Nova Scotia. Searchable database as well as text and phone service.

Featured Videos

[Video]. Play Therapy : Proven Treatment Strategies for Trauma Anxiety, OCD and More! - A Lecture.(2016). Film On Demand.
(NSCC W# and password required)
This video seminar presents a tool box filled with ready to use play therapy techniques for working with children and clients of all ages. It teaches approaches for different presenting problems such as anger, ADHD, depression, anxiety, PTSD, abuse, and fears, examining such techniques and media as Sand Tray therapy, coloring, puppets, dance/movement, “I Spy”, and Gift Boxes.

[Video]. Next of Kin. (2018). CBC.
(NSCC W# and password required)
Nearly 50,000 Canadian children are in foster and group homes. Most will stop receiving support at age 19. Compared to their peers, youth aging out of care do not fare well. Too often they drop out of school, suffer PTSD and substance abuse, end up on welfare, in jail or homeless. In St. Catharines, Ontario an innovative non-profit believes connecting youth aging out with biological family could make all the difference. Next of Kin is a detective story in which the goal isn’t to catch a killer but save a life. The persons of interest: long lost or unknown family members.

Recommended Video Collections

Films on Demand
Licensing Terms

Films On Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that provides access to 39, 500 full length videos and 300,000 segments.
* All films can be shown in the classroom.
** Films on Demand offer Closed Captioning.

CBC Curio

Licensing Terms

CBC's streaming video platform designed to provide advertisement-free access to high quality educational content

McIntyre Can-Core Academic Video
Canadian video collection including short films, interviews, podcasts and films about and by Canadian Indigenous people, the environment, health, social and current affairs issues.

Videatives Streaming Video
Licensing Terms
Videatives is a streaming service of 360+ short video clips with supporting text, designed to help increase understanding of children's thinking by demonstrating what children know. Videos can be browsed by subject and age of child.

Criterion-on-Demand
Licensing Terms

Over 2,600 feature film & documentary titles from a wide variety of major producers. Includes English, French and Subtitled/Captioned versions (where available).

Includes Public Performance Rights for NSCC hosted events.

LinkedIn Learning
Licensing Terms

LinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. From this link:
Select Sign in
Sign in using your NSCC email eg. jane.doe@nscc.ca
Select "Recommended for Nova Scotia Community College"

Off Campus Access

You can use NSCC Libraries' e-resources off-site by logging in with your w# and password (the same login information you use for your NSCC email).

<< Previous: Behavioural Interventions

Next: Disability Support Professional >>