Subject Guides: Social and Community Supports Programs: Mental Health Recovery and Promotion

Recommended Resources

All in Her Head by Misty Pratt
This provocative, deeply personal book explores how women experience mental health care differently than men--and lays out how the system must change for women to flourish. Why are so many women feeling anxious, stressed out, and depressed, and why are they not getting the help they need?
Child and Youth Mental Health in Canada by Patricia Kostouros (Editor); Shemine Alnoor Gulamhusein (Editor); Brenda Thompson (Editor)
Child and Youth Mental Health in Canada, Second Edition is a relationally focused text that offers practical strategies for working with children, youth, and families who may struggle with mental health concerns. Available in print & eBook formats
Motivational Interviewing Across Cultures by Christina S. Lee
This pragmatic guide describes tested ways to adapt motivational interviewing (MI) to optimize outcomes when practitioner and client come from different cultural backgrounds; in particular, when clients are members of marginalized groups.
Motivational Interviewing by William R. Miller; Stephen Rollnick
Publication Date: 2023-08-21

Most of the book is entirely new. Addresses the breadth of MI applications not only in counseling and psychotherapy, but also in health care, education, coaching, management, and other contexts. Discusses delivering MI remotely, simple versus complex affirmations, strategic use of directional questions, ethical considerations, and other new or expanded topics.
Building Resilience to Trauma by Elaine Miller-Karas
The second edition of Building Resilience to Trauma explains common responses to trauma from a biological perspective, reframing the human experience from one of shame and pathology to one of hope and biology.
Essentials in Health and Mental Health by Masood Zangeneh (Editor)
In a world increasingly characterized by rapid change and constant challenges, maintaining good physical and mental health is more important than ever. "Essentials in Health & Mental Health" is a comprehensive exploration of the multifaceted landscape of health and well-being, delving into key aspects that affect individuals of all ages, backgrounds, and circumstances.
The End of Mental Illness by Daniel G. Amen; MD Amen
New hope for those suffering from conditions like depression, anxiety, bipolar disorder, addictions, PTSD, ADHD and more.

ProQuest Central Premium
Licensing Terms
Discover extensive, foundational full-text scholarly content from journals, magazines, news sources, trade publications and more. A dynamic, multidisciplinary resource with video, ebooks, A&I resources, and primary sources.
ProQuest One Psychology
Licensing Terms
Resources for researching and studying psychology and counseling with authoritative multiformat content covering psychological conditions, therapy, research concepts, tests and more.
Psychology
Licensing Terms

Provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.
ProQuest One Social Sciences
Licensing Terms
Offers high-quality titles spanning anthropology, criminology, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, social work, and sociology.
Health & Medical Research Collection
Licensing Terms

Offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
Health and Wellness
Licensing Terms

Provides access to nearly 400 health and medical journals, as well as other full text content.
ProQuest One Health & Nursing
Licensing Terms
Provides a diverse mix of scholarly literature (1300 full-text peer-reviewed journals), clinical training videos (demonstrating best-practice techniques), reference materials, and evidence-based resources — including dissertations and systematic reviews.
Statista
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries. Established in Germany in 2007, Statista operates in 13 locations worldwide and employs around 1,100 professionals.

Statista Get Started Guide : detailed instructions on searching and accessing data.
Statistics Canada - Data Search
Licensing Terms

A socioeconomic database containing data on almost all aspects of Canadians' lives. If you find data that mentions it is only available through EFT (electronic file transfer), you can email us with the details of the data you need; please include a link to the web page.
Gale eBooks
Licensing Terms
Searchable collection of electronic encyclopedias, handbooks, and general reference books.

CMHA Canadian Mental Health Association
Founded in 1918, the Canadian Mental Health Association (CMHA) is the most established, most extensive community mental health organization in Canada.
eMental Health
Looking for information about mental health, and where to find help? eMentalHealth.ca provides anonymous, confidential and trustworthy information, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. Also provides info sheets and access to screening tools.
Healthy Minds Nova Scotia
HealthyMindsNS, made possible through the Government of
Nova Scotia, offers a suite of online mental health programs to complement the in-person counselling services
available on campuses. E-mental health programs have proven themselves to be an integral part of the spectrum
of mental health support offerings – offerings that also must include in-person and on-campus resources.
Jack org
Jack.org is Canada's only charity training and empowering young leaders to revolutionize mental health. Through Jack Talks, Jack Chapters, and Jack Summits, young leaders identify and dismantle barriers to positive mental health in their communities. Jack.org is working towards a Canada where all young people understand how to take care of their own mental health and look out for each other. A Canada without shame, where all those who need support get the help they deserve.
Mental Health Commission of Canada
The Mental Health Commission of Canada (MHCC) leads the development and dissemination of innovative programs and tools to support the mental health and wellness of Canadians.
Nova Scotia Mental Health and Addictions
There are thousands of mental health and addictions professionals who provide support, programs, and services to Nova Scotians across the province.
Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse & Addiction
"CCSA works with its partners to address issues related to substance use and abuse that affect the health and safety of Canadians"
National Institute of Drug Abuse
NIDA's mission is to lead the Nation in bringing the power of science to bear on drug abuse and addiction. NIDA conducts research across a broad range of disciplines and shares the results to significantly improve prevention and treatment and to inform policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.

Off Campus Access

You can use NSCC Libraries' e-resources off-site by logging in with your w# and password (the same login information you use for your NSCC email).