Subject Guides: Social and Community Supports Programs: Find your sources

Common Recommended Resources

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by American Psychiatric Association
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis.
Elements of Indigenous style : a guide for writing by and about Indigenous Peoples by Gregory Younging, lead editor Warren Cariou
the second edition of Elements continues to offer crucial guidance to everyone who works with words on how to accurately, collaboratively, and ethically participate in projects involving Indigenous Peoples. This second conversation updates and annotates Younging’s twenty-two succinct style principles and recommendations to reflect up-to-date, Indigenous-led best practices.
A critical mental health primer : towards informed choice in social services, education, and healthcare by Jan N. DeFehr
Through a peer-reviewed critique of psychiatry and its broad field of mental health, topics explored include scientific critique of evidence; the potential long-term harm caused by mental disorder diagnoses; key concerns related to lack of transparency and procedural justice; anti-colonial critiques of the mental health system; critiques concerning psychiatric drugs and the DSM; ethical standards of care; and practical guidance for supporting one another outside of the dominant mental health model.
Decolonizing Trauma Healing by Laura S. Brown
This book offers a critical examination of the field of trauma work using a decolonial lens, recentering narratives and approaches to healing in a more inclusive, culturally responsive way than that offered by dominant Eurocentric approaches. As trauma is a universal experience, a colonized paradigm for responding to trauma re-introduces problematic dynamics of domination and subjugation that are inimical to healing.
Communication Tools for Working with Traumatized Children and Teens by Hazel Nicholls (Illustrator); Richard Rose
This expert guide provides 50 essential tools and activities to use in practice with children and young people who have experienced trauma.

Persons with Disabilities Book Collection
Current books and ebooks on disability information, supports, legislation and rights.

A journal is a publication that is published regularly and contains a collection of articles written by experts, researchers or professional in a specific field. They can be found in print, electronic or both forms of publication.

You can browse the NSCC Journal Search or use the NSCC journal Search window below. Type in the exact title, beginning of the title, or words from the title of the journal you are looking for.

There are also other methods to locate journals:

Search for journals in one of our NSCC Databases
Search for open access journals in the Directory of Open Access Journals
Search Google Scholar
Search Flipster Digital Magazines
Search Overdrive Magazines a collection of 4000+ magazine titles

NSCC has access to a variety of Streaming Video collections. All collections can be shown in the classroom and have close captioning.

Our subscriptions include Public Performance Rights which gives NSCC permission to show videos in class as part of lessons or presentations. For more information on our collections and how to use them, see the Streaming Video Guide or contact your Campus Library

To search NSCC Video Collection. Type in a title or key words in the search box below and press search.

NSCC Stream Video Collection

CBC Curio
Licensing Terms

CBC's streaming video platform designed to provide advertisement-free access to high quality educational content
Criterion-on-Demand
Licensing Terms

Over 2,600 feature film & documentary titles from a wide variety of major producers. Includes English, French and Subtitled/Captioned versions (where available).

Includes Public Performance Rights for NSCC hosted events.
Films on Demand
Licensing Terms

Films On Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that provides access to 39, 500 full length videos and 300,000 segments.
* All films can be shown in the classroom.
** Films on Demand offer Closed Captioning.
Kanopy
Licensing Terms

Access to a small collection of films and documentaries on the Kanopy platform. Videos can be added by request from instructors.
McIntyre Can-Core Academic Video
Canadian video collection including short films, interviews, podcasts and films about and by Canadian Indigenous people, the environment, health, social and current affairs issues.
SafetyHub
Licensing Terms

Video library of Workplace Health & Safety and Skills Training videos.
Videatives Streaming Video
Licensing Terms
Videatives is a streaming service of 360+ short video clips with supporting text, designed to help increase understanding of children's thinking by demonstrating what children know. Videos can be browsed by subject and age of child.
LinkedIn Learning
Licensing Terms

LinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. From this link:
1. Select Sign in
2. Sign in using your NSCC email eg. jane.doe@nscc.ca
3. Select "Recommended for Nova Scotia Community College"
O'Reilly for Higher Education
Licensing Terms
O’Reilly for Higher Education includes more than 40,000 technology and business ebooks from more than 250 of the world’s leading publishers in business and technology, as well as videos and case studies. Topics range from programming to cybersecurity to project management to communications to presentation skills. Content is continually updated with the latest editions. The database includes the Harvard Business Review audiobook collection.

O'Reilly Get Started Guide : detailed instructions on searching for, viewing, and sharing all types of O'Reilly content.

Off Campus Access

You can use NSCC Libraries' e-resources off-site by logging in with your w# and password (the same login information you use for your NSCC email).