Subject Guides: Social and Community Supports Programs: Disability Support Professional

Disability Support Professional Resources

Indigenous Disability Studies by John T. Ward (Editor)
This book provides a comprehensive approach to the perspectives, lived experiences, and socio-cultural beliefs of Indigenous scholars regarding disabilities through a distinctions-based approach. Indigenous people demonstrate considerable knowledge in a multitude of capacities in spite of legal, monetary, social, economic, health, and political inequalities that they experience within from administrative authorities whether health, education, or governments. It will be an asset to those who seek out a deeper understanding of the complexity of Indigenous people and their knowledge, including anyone who deals with predominantly non-Indigenous mindsets and barriers to education. Courses on disability studies, Indigenous studies, social work, health, education, and development studies will all benefit from this book.
Living Disability by Emily Macrae (Editor)
How can we build more accessible cities? From sidewalks to the climate crisis, Living Disability brings together the vibrant perspectives of thirty-five disabled writers. They explore disability justice, analyze urban systems, and propose more equitable approaches to city building. Essays and interviews push the conversation about accessibility beyond policy papers and compliance checklists to show how disabled people are already creating more inclusive spaces in cities of all sizes.
The Invisible Brain Injury by Aurora Lassaletta Atienza
Publication Date: 2019-11-21

The Invisible Brain Injury recounts, in her own words, the experience of Aurora Lassaletta, a clinical psychologist who suffered a traumatic brain injury (TBI) after a traffic accident. Presenting her unique dual perspective as both a patient and a clinician, Aurora highlights the less visible cognitive, emotional and behavioural symptoms common to acquired brain injury (ABI).
The Lives of Children and Adolescents with Disabilities by Anne-Marie Callus (Editor); Angharad Beckett (Editor)
This book will be of interest to undergraduates, postgraduates and researchers in disability studies, childhood studies, medicine and health sciences, and sociology. It also provides insights that will be of use and value to professionals working with disabled children and adolescents in education, health and in disability-specific services.

Persons with Disabilities Book Collection
Current books and ebooks on disability information, supports, legislation and rights. (NSCC W# and password required for electronic book access)

ProQuest Central Premium
Licensing Terms
Discover extensive, foundational full-text scholarly content from journals, magazines, news sources, trade publications and more. A dynamic, multidisciplinary resource with video, ebooks, A&I resources, and primary sources.
ProQuest One Psychology
Licensing Terms
Resources for researching and studying psychology and counseling with authoritative multiformat content covering psychological conditions, therapy, research concepts, tests and more.
ProQuest One Social Sciences
Licensing Terms
Offers high-quality titles spanning anthropology, criminology, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, social work, and sociology.
ERIC
Licensing Terms

The premier source for education-related information
Statistics Canada - Data Search
Licensing Terms

A socioeconomic database containing data on almost all aspects of Canadians' lives. If you find data that mentions it is only available through EFT (electronic file transfer), you can email us with the details of the data you need; please include a link to the web page.
Statista
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries. Established in Germany in 2007, Statista operates in 13 locations worldwide and employs around 1,100 professionals.

Statista Get Started Guide : detailed instructions on searching and accessing data.
Health and Wellness
Licensing Terms

Provides access to nearly 400 health and medical journals, as well as other full text content.
Health and Medicine
Licensing Terms

Provides access to leading medical journals and reference books, as well as nursing and allied health information.
MedlinePlus
Licensing Terms

Health information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Gale eBooks
Licensing Terms
Searchable collection of electronic encyclopedias, handbooks, and general reference books.

The International Journal for Direct Support Professionals
The International Journal for Direct Support Professionals contains easy to-read, practical articles for Direct Support Professionals on a variety of topics that are pertinent to their role in supporting people with intellectual disabilities.
The National Alliance for Direct Support Professionals (NADSP)
The National Alliance for Direct Support Professionals (NADSP) is a national non-profit whose mission is to elevate the status of direct support professionals by improving practice standards; promoting system reform; and advancing their knowledge, skills and values.
Access Advisor
Canadian Institute for Health Information
Provides essential data and analysis on Canada’s health system and the health of Canadians.
Nova Scotia Human Rights Act
First passed in 1963, the NS Human Rights Act prohibits actions that discriminate against people based on a protected characteristic in combination with a prohibited area. If was most recently revised in 2016.
Here to Help
A project of the BC Partners for Mental Health and Addictions Information.
Persons with Disabilities Resources Subject Guide
This guide is an introduction to concepts and resources around disability information, supports, legislation and rights. It was developed in consultation with members of the disability community and NSCC staff who work closely with them.

Off Campus Access

You can use NSCC Libraries' e-resources off-site by logging in with your w# and password (the same login information you use for your NSCC email).