Subject Guides: Social and Community Supports Programs: Social Services

Recommended Resources

A critical mental health primer : towards informed choice in social services, education, and healthcare by Jan N. DeFehr
Through a peer-reviewed critique of psychiatry and its broad field of mental health, topics explored include scientific critique of evidence; the potential long-term harm caused by mental disorder diagnoses; key concerns related to lack of transparency and procedural justice; anti-colonial critiques of the mental health system; critiques concerning psychiatric drugs and the DSM; ethical standards of care; and practical guidance for supporting one another outside of the dominant mental health model.
Decolonizing Trauma Healing by Laura S. Brown
This book offers a critical examination of the field of trauma work using a decolonial lens, recentering narratives and approaches to healing in a more inclusive, culturally responsive way than that offered by dominant Eurocentric approaches. As trauma is a universal experience, a colonized paradigm for responding to trauma re-introduces problematic dynamics of domination and subjugation that are inimical to healing.
The Empowerment Wheel by Rachel Brandoff; Astra Czerny
Publication Date: 2024-03-21

Intimate partner violence leaves long-term effects. Survivors often struggle with issues of safety, self-esteem, and trusting their own ability to make healthy decisions and enter future relationships. This revolutionary treatment method uses art therapy to guide individuals through a journey of self-exploration, helping them to re-discover their confidence and grow beyond their experiences.
Stitching Our Stories Together by Jeannine Carriere (Editor); Catherine Richardson (Editor)
A collection of graduate research by emerging Indigenous social work scholars Between its covers, Stitching Our Stories Together highlights the research of Indigenous graduate students from universities across Canada. Focusing on their own nations, communities, and individual realities, these academics demonstrate how Indigenous epistemologies can challenge settler ideas and myths around pan-Indigeneity.

ProQuest Central Premium
Licensing Terms
Discover extensive, foundational full-text scholarly content from journals, magazines, news sources, trade publications and more. A dynamic, multidisciplinary resource with video, ebooks, A&I resources, and primary sources.
Diversity Studies
Licensing Terms

This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.
Gender Studies
Licensing Terms
Gender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Psychology
Licensing Terms

Provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.
ProQuest One Psychology
Licensing Terms
Resources for researching and studying psychology and counseling with authoritative multiformat content covering psychological conditions, therapy, research concepts, tests and more.
ProQuest One Social Sciences
Licensing Terms
Offers high-quality titles spanning anthropology, criminology, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, social work, and sociology.
Statista
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries. Established in Germany in 2007, Statista operates in 13 locations worldwide and employs around 1,100 professionals.

Statista Get Started Guide : detailed instructions on searching and accessing data.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database
Licensing Terms
Canadian content that covers topics such as current events, business, education, science and medicine, arts, law, academia, and lifestyles.

CMHA Canadian Mental Health Association
Founded in 1918, the Canadian Mental Health Association (CMHA) is the most established, most extensive community mental health organization in Canada.
Canadian Institute for Health Information
Provides essential data and analysis on Canada’s health system and the health of Canadians.
Dietitians of Canada
Trusted source of evidence-based food and nutrition information.
Here to Help
A project of the BC Partners for Mental Health and Addictions Information.
211 Nova Scotia
Referrals to programs and services across Nova Scotia. Searchable database as well as text and phone service.
Canadian Home Care Association
The leadership voice and access point for information knowledge for home care and community care
Nova Scotia Health Atlas
Note*** Will go live in fall 2025****
The Nova Scotia Health Atlas is an interactive, web-based mapping tool that illustrates differences in measures of health status, health service use, and the social determinants of health across small geographic areas of Nova Scotia.
Addiction Services - Nova Scotia
"Addiction Services helps to improve the lives of Nova Scotians who are harmfully involved with alcohol, gambling, tobacco, or other drugs. A range of services are provided to Nova Scotians through Addiction Services offices in District Health Authorities and the IWK. "

Off Campus Access

You can use NSCC Libraries' e-resources off-site by logging in with your w# and password (the same login information you use for your NSCC email).